Contact


Platinum Reviews Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/PlatinumBookReviews

Authors, Publishers & Editors & Cover Models, please contact me at:
Arkgirl1@aol.com
(Vicki Rose) Or through my Facebook page.

Tuesday, May 3, 2016

The Steamborn Trilogy by Eric R Asher


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Wow! Steamborn, Steamforged & Steamsworn are truly the BEST steampunk inspired novels that I've ever had the pleasure of reading! When you meet Jacob, Alice & Charles, you'll be launched headlong into a fantasy world like no other! The sheer amount of research that the author did for these stories is positively mind-boggling! The settings, people, automatons, creatures and fascinating worlds will keep you turning the pages!
Eric Asher is a unique, interesting & intriguing voice in the Steampunk world and he seriously knows how to grab hold of the reader & never let go!  
If you're a fan of any type of Steampunk, this is one set you don't want to miss! Check it out today! 

Platinum Book Reviews & Promotions gives the Steamborn Trilogy:
5 Platinum Rings!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Steamborn blurb:
Jacob, a tinker's apprentice and sometime thief, has lived his entire life in the mountain city of Ancora, protected by the city walls. These towering barriers keep the Deadlands creatures at bay, but the monsters move higher into the peaks every year. More and more, they breach the defenses of the Lowlands while the Highlands rest easy. 
★★★★
Steamforged blurb:
There are old wounds in the forgotten places of the world, and some are soaked in blood. 
Jacob and his allies flee into the Deadlands after the fall of Ancora. Charles, the enigmatic smith, hopes to find answers in the desert city of Bollwerk that could prevent a war. 
Their enemies are many, and here Jacob will learn the cost of life in the Deadlands.
★★★★
Steamsworn blurb:
The world dies in war only to be reborn. It is the way of things, and always will be. 
Forged in the Deadlands crucible, and armed with the knowledge of their true enemy, Jacob, Alice, and their allies bring the fight back to Ancora. The wounds cut deep in their darkest hour, but in the end, vengeance will light their path.
★★★★
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



Thursday, April 14, 2016

Omnipotent Blood by CM Michaels


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

We have yet another hit on our hands, penned by the always-awesome CM Michaels! 
Omipotent Blood is the second book in the Sisters In Blood series... This is one of those unique, well-written novels that keeps you actively turning pages..
From the moment you pick it up, you'll start to feel that the things that go bump in the night are no longer simply just a part of your imagination..
The lead character Brooke, shows strength, endurance & shows the evil side of the world what true love is really about... The supporting characters are solidly written, consistent in their stances & they certainly know how help you dive into this fascinating new world...
As always, Mr Michaels is meticulous in his work & knows how to draw every single reader into his dark, dangerously sexy world of intrigue, action & terror... 
If you're a fan of the paranormal, don't miss this stunning series!

Platinum Book Reviews gives CM Michaels & Omnipotent Blood: 5 Platinum Rings!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Blurb:
Having survived the attack inside the Natick Mall, Brooke dreads the thought of spending decades in exile while she waits for the media firestorm from the superhuman brawl to run its course. But soon after fleeing Boston, she discovers the battle caught the eye of forces far more lethal than humans. Captured by the dark goddess Lilith, Brooke is transformed into her greater demon general and finds herself tasked with converting the rest of her family to form the advisory council she'll need to lead the largest demonic uprising in history. 
But not even Lilith could have anticipated the powerful bond Brooke has formed with her family. Seeing her resist even after losing her soul, angels soon take interest, as Brooke's unfettered access to Hell and greater demon abilities could shift the tide in the age-old war if she were to fight against her dark queen. Her love for Sienna, her sisters and her now girlfriend, Sandy, is all that prevents her from fully embracing the darkness. But with the demon spirit inside her claiming more control of her mind with each passing day, will the power of love be able to save her? 

                                                                                ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

                                                       ~~CLICK HERE TO FIND CM MICHAELS ON FB~~


Wednesday, April 6, 2016

Steamsworn by Eric R Asher

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Steamsworn, the final installment in Eric R Asher's Steamborn trio has arrived & it'll knock your socks off! I've been loving this Steampunk inspired series since meeting Jacob, Alice & Charles in the first book. 
Steamsworn brings us back into the wars in the Deadlands and it keeps you hooked, page after page.. We learn more about Jacob's loyal heart, Alice's inner strength and Charles's devotion to his people & loved ones.. Not to mention, we meet some really creepy freakin' critters who are literally out for blood, while the bad guys are out for total domination in all of the Deadlands.. 
Eric Asher is a unique, interesting & intriguing voice in the Steampunk world and he seriously knows how to grab hold of the reader & never let go! Steamsworn exceeded even my lofty expectations for the finale in the trilogy...  If you're a fan of any type of Steampunk, this is truly one of the best series I've ever read in the genre.. Check it out today!

Platinum Book Reviews & Promotions gives Steamsworn:
5 Platinum Rings!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Steamsworn blurb:

The world dies in war only to be reborn. It is the way of things, and always will be.

Forged in the Deadlands crucible, and armed with the knowledge of their true enemy, Jacob, Alice, and their allies bring the fight back to Ancora. The wounds cut deep in their darkest hour, but in the end, vengeance will light their path.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Excerpt:

Alice was almost to the door when the radio crackled to life. There were no codes or hidden messages, only Archibald’s voice, fast and clipped.
“Something’s happened in Dauschen. We’ve lost contact with the safe house and Charles. I have information that the bombs have gone off and the base is in ruins, but it’s not from one of my regular spies, and I don’t know if I can trust him. One of the others is saying the Steamsworn have been captured and the mission is compromised. I don’t know who to trust. The last message from Drakkar was they’d been compromised.”
The world closed in around Alice like someone had wrapped her in an icy blanket. “What about Jacob?”.....

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LINKS:



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Monday, March 28, 2016

**AUTHOR PUBLICITY SPECIAL**


•.•*´¨`*•• *ATTENTION AUTHORS* ••*´¨`*•.•

Have your book profits been lower than expected? Would you like a much-needed boost in the online literary world? Are you looking for a reasonably priced and experienced literary publicist for long-term work or even simply for a short trial period?

*PLEASE NOTE* Spaces are VERY limited! Reserve yours today!
~~~~

* 3 WEEKS of REGULAR AUTHOR PUBLICITY postings in a minimum of 15 groups 2-3x per week PLUS publicity mentions on Twitter & other social networking. 

* A professional book REVIEW on Platinum, which will also be shared on Amazon & Goodreads.

* An Author SPOTLIGHT SPECIAL FEATURE on Platinum.

* Two Multi-Author Event Appearances. (Value $50)

* A guaranteed INCREASE in Fan Page "LIKES" of 100+!

* A Thunderclap Campaign for your book(s).

* A complete publicity consultation with the best available advice for moving forward with publicity services in the future.

**ALL OF THE ABOVE IS INCLUDED for the special pricing of: $150** 
(Payment plans available if needed)

You definitely don't want to miss this chance to give your work an amazing boost! Spaces are very limited so book now! 

Available dates are 3/28/16 - 4/30/16 only! All genres welcome! Platinum has been a beloved, vocal voice in the online literary world for over 5 years! We have hosted over 200 online Facebook Events & do regular publicity for many authors each & every month! 20+ authors have landed on Amazon best seller lists, thanks to Platinum's events! Be sure to take advantage of this amazing package before it's gone! 

It's just like getting a THREE WEEK VACATION from marketing plus you end up with new fans!! :)

Contact Vicki Rose via inbox at:

https://www.facebook.com/Arkgirl1
Or
https://www.facebook.com/PlatinumBookReviews

I'm looking forward to chatting with you soon!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

*SPRING AUTHOR EVENT PARTY PRICING*


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

.•´¸.•*´¨) ¸.•*¨)
(¸.•´ (¸.•` ¤** ATTENTION AUTHORS **(¸.•´ (¸.•`)

Here is the current online Facebook author event pricing through my Platinum Book Reviews & Promotions! 

All genres welcome! Platinum has been a beloved, vocal voice in the online literary world for over 3 years! We have hosted over 200 online Facebook Events & do regular publicity for many authors each & every month! Platinum events have helped 20+ authors land on the Amazon best seller lists!

Be sure to send me a message & book today, before spaces are gone! 
Contact me via private FB inbox at:

https://www.facebook.com/Arkgirl1
Or
https://www.facebook.com/PlatinumBookReviews

I'm looking forward to chatting with you soon! 

Thank you!

~Vicki Rose 
Platinum Book Reviews & Promotions

Tuesday, March 1, 2016

**AUTHOR FEATURE** Jayson Zwirner





Our next author feature is on an up-and-coming writer, whose first book will be released shortly. I'd like you all to meet the awesome Jayson Zwirner! His new book is titled: Rising Fall: Book One: Zero Effect, so watch for the release soon! In between work on the new book, a busy family life & the recordings of his beloved podcast "Twisted Geekdom",  Jay took a few minutes to sit down with Platinum & answer some questions.. He has a great sense of humor, so be sure to check the interview out! 


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


1) Why did you decide to start writing? 

Honestly, I started when I was in High School, back when Dinosaurs roamed the earth. Had an entire fantasy novel written that was destroyed in a flood (no PCs back then, so no backups.. It was all hand-written) and so, after losing hope and stopping, I went on a looong break.. One day I picked up a book by Mark Tufos, called Zombie Fallout and then spent time talking to an author friend of mine, Raz T Slasher, and it inspired me to start again.
~~



2) Do you think authors can succeed in multiple genres or should they stick with a single genre? 

I think its different for every author. One may be only good at one thing & another could be awesome at many. I let the work decide, not an opinion.
~~


3) What do you feel is the biggest reward to you with writing? 

Creating a world from scratch. Yes, I may use our own planet, but the people and situations are something that (hopefully) would never happen in reality so it is "my" world, at that point.
~~



4) Who are some of your favorite authors & why? 

Mark Tufo, I love his characters, and his style of writing, and I also know him IRL and he's a great guy. Stephen King and Terry Brooks, who are the two authors that started it all for me when I read the Shanara series (before it was a teen drama) and Pet Cemetery and I fell in love with books.
~~


5) What are the biggest hurdles to overcome as an author?

Finding time to write. This is not my full time gig (yet). I have a full time job, a wife, and 3 kids, a podcast, and a stream I'm trying to cultivate, so time, quite literally, is a luxury for me.
~~


6) Is there any advice that you can offer for new writers? 

Don't give up! It took me over a year to get my first book finished and ready for publishing, but the feeling you get when it's done is unmatched.
~~


7) Tell us a few random personal things about yourself personal & professional! 

A few, umm, okay.... I'm a meat Popsicle (bonus points if you get the reference)!

No, but seriously, I'm a huge gamer.. I play MMO's, MOBA's and RPG's like they are crack (they probably are).
I run a podcast with some dear friends, on which we talk about all things nerdy and pop culture-y.
I assisted in teaching kids Martial Arts for free, back in the day (10 years or so ago when I wasn't old and broken down). It was a thing for less-fortunate kids that a friend and I did..
I've been a Nerd since before it was cool (like 80s style). I still play DnD and probably always will!
Oh.. And I love Lamp! That is all..

:)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, February 16, 2016

**AUTHOR FEATURE** Raz T Slasher


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
We were able to sit down & chat with a fab new author on the horror scene! Meet Raz T Slasher, who recently released his novel "The Mime", which is also a fantastic horror film! He's a fab, fun guy & we had a blast hanging out with him! He has a quirky, off-kilter sense of humor & fits in well with us! Check out his interview today!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

1) Why did you decide to start writing? 

My mom had a rule in our home. We were allowed to read anything we wanted as long as we didn’t ask what a word meant. So I’d carry around books and a dictionary with me everywhere. I think that gave me a huge appreciation of what it took to write. The more expansive the vocabulary, the more I found myself enamored with what I was reading. The first time I picked up a pencil I remember thinking to myself that I had stories to tell to.  
~~~

2) Do you think authors can succeed in multiple genres or should they stick with a single genre? 

Honestly, I think you can succeed in writing in every single genre at once if that's something you're passionate about. Readers will follow a good author no matter where their journey takes them.  
~~~
3) What do you feel is the biggest reward to you with writing? 

I think the biggest reward has been all the great conversations I've gotten to have with some amazing readers. Writing in the horror genre is difficult in the best of times, seeing them connect with your work is beyond exciting.  
~~~
4) Who are some of your favorite authors & why? 

If I can pick only one, then I have to say Clive Barker. He writes various genres, besides horror. There’s so much passion in what he writes and that’s something I connect to as a person, not just as a reader. He makes even horror this deeply romantic thing always bubbling just below the surface of tragedy and terror.  
~~~
5) What are the biggest hurdles to overcome as an author? 

It boils down to needing a lot of patience. This is a very long and difficult process from the moment it begins, a process in which there is no true ending to. For me the biggest hurdles have been finding new and interesting ways to get my work out there.  
~~~
6) Is there any advice that you can offer for new writers? 

Believe in yourself, even when you're at your lowest. Remember that your voice is just as important than everyone else's. Stay passionate, people pick up on that. If you're enjoying what you're doing, then other will follow suit!  
~~~
7) Tell us a few random personal things about yourself personal & professional! 

I co-host the Twisted Geekdom Podcast with an amazing group of friends. I probably spend an unhealthy amount of time research things that have absolutely nothing to do with anything I'm writing. My favorite color is Green.. Oh, And I love chocolate milk.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~





~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Monday, February 1, 2016

FEBRUARY 2016 AUTHOR PRICING


**AUTHOR FEATURE** CL Gaber


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Our next author feature is on the lovely CL Gaber! Her latest book "Ascenders" is a fab YA/NA paranormal about a high school for the recently deceased. You don't want to miss this one! Enjoy the feature!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


1) Why did you decide to start writing? 

I’ve always been a writer. When I was young, I’d write at home and my Dad was my editor. I’ve been a journalist covering Hollywood for many years. I’ve interviewed the authors of all the books turned into movies. They inspired me to try writing a book. One night, I had a crazy dream that played out like a movie in my mind. I saw the beginning, middle and end, plus the characters were very detailed. That became ASCENDERS. 

~~

2) Do you think authors can succeed in multiple genres or should they stick with a single genre?

I think authors can write in any genre. You just need to create a great story and within that story there can be fantasy, love, adventure, etc. Ascenders blends an epic love story with high adventure and fantasy. I love it because it’s fun to write in all of those worlds. 

~~

3) What do you feel is the biggest reward to you with writing? 

You’re asking someone who just did the last chapter of the Ascenders sequel coming out this spring. It’s an amazing feeling to finish a book, but even more fun to live inside your characters. I’m constantly writing myself little notes on scraps of paper about what Walker would say or Daniel would do. The other great reward is talking to readers. You guys have embraced Ascenders in such a loving way and can’t wait until book two. That makes me crazy happy! 

~~

4) Who are some of your favorite authors & why? 

Love, love, love Stephen King. He writes in a way that’s very real, but with amazing plotlines and stories. 

~~

5) What are the biggest hurdles to overcome as an author? 

I love the writing, cover design, editing, etc. That part is fun. I think the biggest hurdle is dealing with getting your book out there. You really have to work at it and it’s crucial to have someone amazing like Vicki helping. You can just write the book and not keep your finger on getting it out there. But this is also the fun part where you meet readers and make new friends. There are people I talk to on Facebook all the time now that feel like old friends. It’s really amazing to say I have friends in every state now. 

~~

6) Is there any advice that you can offer for new writers? 

Write. Find time to write. Make the hub take the kids. Get the dog a new bone. Make time for you. I interviewed Twilight author Stephenie Meyers many times. She had little kids when she wrote that book and made her hub for a certain period of time each day take the kids so she could lock herself in the den. Even if you just write a few paragraphs each day, keep on track. 

~~

7) Tell us a few random personal things about yourself personal & professional! 

Well, I’ve been an entertainment journalist for forever. Each week I go to LA for two days and interview movie stars. The other day, I was in an elevator in Bev Hills with Sly Stallone and Harrison Ford. Come on! That was really exciting! Other stuff about me: After 30 years of not seeing each other, I married my high school boyfriend Ron and now I have an amazing bonus daughter Sabrina. I’m also crazy about my two dogs, Colt and Georgie. I’m also sitting her in PJs typing this thinking about cleaning the house. My life is pretty normal. So let’s crank up the Adele and get out the Windex! Also, I love to hear from everyone. Write me at CLGaber@yahoo.com.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



Friday, January 29, 2016

*Review* Alexa Crushed & Alexa Loved by TR Cupak


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I'm combining reviews for the next book, as it's a close knit series.. We're focusing on the Alexa series by TR Cupak.

This series was amazing! YA/NA isn't normally my preferred genre but the Alexa series kept me glued to each page, non-stop! Ms Cupak does an excellent job portraying Alexa's character.. You can literally feel the emotion pouring off the pages! Alexa is a beautiful young lady who's gone through more than her fair share of heartbreak & she's also slowly realizing that she is caught between her affection for Devin & her developing feelings for Ethan... Ms Cupak takes us through the twists & turns in Alexa's world & she does it all with class!
If you're a fan of contemporary New Adult romance, this is one series you don't want to miss!!


Platinum gives the Alexa Series & TR Cupak:


FIVE PLATINUM RINGS!!


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Alexa Crushed blurb:

Alexa Morgan lost her mother when she was two. At eighteen, her father and stepmother died when a devastating earthquake hit the Bay Area. Only one person has remained a constant in her life: Devin.
Devin has been Alexa’s best friend since childhood. The two are inseparable—or they were until Devin declared his love for her at sixteen. When Alexa can offer him only friendship in return, Devin retreats, brokenhearted.
Alexa, on the other hand, longs for Ethan, the boy next door. Four years older than her, and with an ever-changing roster of girlfriends, Ethan is everything Devin isn’t: wild, sensual, and unpredictable.
In the aftermath of the deadly earthquake, Ethan makes his move on Alexa, who reciprocates in a confused whirl of grief and desire. When Ethan leaves town the next day, Devin comes back into Alexa’s life, offering support and expecting nothing in return.
Alexa begins to see the advantages of Devin’s quiet, stable love. Can she get past the friendship hang-up while trying to forget bad boy Ethan? It’s a choice that changes her life forever.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Alexa Loved blurb:
After her parents died during her senior year of high school, Alexa Morgan is completely alone in the world—except for her best-friend-turned-boyfriend Devin, identical twins Becca and Jessa, and Sebastian, a mysterious associate of her father’s. 
Upon graduation, Alexa wants nothing more than to move on with her life, go to college, and forget all the hard and hurtful things from her tragic past. But when her first love, Ethan, shows up on her doorstep—the night before she’s supposed to meet Devin in Miami—it kicks off a whirlwind of events that threatens the good and stable things she’s worked so hard to achieve. 
Ethan and Alexa shared one night of passion before he disappeared, leaving her bewildered and confused. But now he’s back, declaring that he loves her and that the only reason he left was to protect her from his malicious stepmother, Olivia. 
In her heart, Alexa knows she loves Devin, but her attraction to Ethan is so strong she can’t help but be drawn in by their shared chemistry. Meanwhile, the threat of Olivia lurks around the edges, casting a menacing shadow over everything and everyone Alexa loves.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~




**AUTHOR FEATURE** Leslie McKelvey


 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Our next author feature is for the extraordinary Ms Leslie McKelvey! Leslie writes romantic suspense & her "Accidental Encounters" series is fantastic! Please welcome her to the blog! 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


1) Why did you decide to start writing?


  • I don't remember when I decided to start writing. I just know that once I learned to write, I started writing stories. I had all these people and places in my head, which was noisy, so I put them on paper. That helped quiet my brain some, but new people and stories just appeared to take place of the old ones.
  • ~~~
  • 2) Do you think authors can succeed in multiple genres or should they stick with a single genre?

    I think authors can succeed in multiple genres if they have the aptitude. I have written romance (contemporary and historical), sci-fi, fantasy, post-apocalyptic, but all of them have a romance theme throughout. For me it's not the main thread that changes, just the setting and language (they didn't use contractions in 13th century Scotland). If you have a firm grasp of writing mechanics and a clear vision, tell the story and worry about what genre it falls into later.
  • ~~~

  • 3) What do you feel is the biggest reward to you with writing?

    PEACE, at least temporary peace. After I finished Accidental Affair, Bear started whispering in my ear. Then he started talking. Then yelling. When all that failed, he shut down my muse until I told his story. Characters can be so temperamental! Oh, and being able to say, "I'm an author" is kind of cool, too!
  • ~~~
  • 4) Who are some of your favorite authors & why?

    Favorite authors. Hmm, that's like asking me my favorite ice cream. It depends on my mood. I love Dean Koontz (his descriptive abilities are second to NONE), Catherine Coulter (her older works), Kathleen Woodiwiss, and then there are the classics like Austen, Melville, Hawthorne, and who could forget Shakespeare? Yes, I'm a book nerd.
    wink emoticon
  • ~~~
  • 5) What are the biggest hurdles to overcome as an author?

    Biggest hurdles. OMG, time management for me. Some authors give themselves a daily writing goal, which is good, but my free-spirited writing muse HATES structure like that. Getting an agent is another one. I have three published books, two more contracted for publication, but can I get an agent? Hell to the NO. But, I'd have to say that getting one's work noticed is by far the biggest, hardest hurdle to overcome. With e-publishing, any hack can publish a book, even those who can't write a coherent sentence and have NO idea what punctuation, spelling, and grammar are. How does one stand out in a crowd of millions when all people base their book purchases on is a cover and a blurb? When I figure out how to get over THAT bar, I'll write a book about it and make millions. Or not....
  • ~~~

  • 6) Is there any advice that you can offer for new writers?

    My advice for new writers is DON'T GIVE UP and NEVER STOP WRITING. But, don't just write to write. Work on improving what you write and how you write. I guess then my REAL advice would be WORK TO BE BETTER, at everything, including life.
  • ~~~

  • 7) Tell us a few random personal things about yourself personal & professional!
  • Random personal things...I don't know, I might scare some people, lol. I'm a US Navy veteran who was among the first groups of women to work the flight deck of an aircraft carrier. I am married to a cop (22 years), I have 3 sons (the oldest is a US Marine, the middle is a high-school senior and leaves for Marine Corps boot camp June 2016, and the youngest is only 12, so he has a few years yet to decide which branch of service, lol). I have extensive training and experience with firearms, including sniper and SWAT training, and knife-fighting. Professionally, I was Sales & Marketing coordinator at a boutique hotel in my home town of Santa Maria, CA, before I gave up all that glamour to be a domestic goddess (aka stay-at-home-mom). I have a BS in Business Management, and a PhD in sarcasm. I am a gun-toting, Constitution-loving, once-a-sailor-always-a-sailor gal who would rather wear my 5-11 tactical pants and combat boots than heels. My favorite perfume is the smell of gunpowder in the morning....
  • ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
  • ~~CLICK HERE FOR LESLIE'S AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE~~



**AUTHOR FEATURE** Melissa A Hanson

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Our latest author feature is with the lovely Ms Melissa A Hanson! Melissa is the author of the YA/NA Riverview series.. Show her some love! :)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

1) Why did you decide to start writing?

At the end of summer in 2010 I had just finished a set of books which I flew through in less than a week, by the time I finished the last page I just had this burning urge to write again.  I had done a lot of writing in high school, but nothing for almost twenty years. I couldn't get it out of my mind, it was there taunting me when I was driving, at work, laying in bed.  I tossed ideas around in my head for a few weeks and then one evening sitting on the couch watching TV I grabbed some paper and before I knew it the prologue was there on the paper.  A couple days later I had a rough draft for an ending and from that moment on it was something I knew had to be written. 
I spent almost every weekend for the next 6 months writing, not during the day, but usually in the middle of the night when the house was quiet, one chapter after the next unfolded.  I would sometimes formulate a rough outline ideas for what might come next, but for the most part all I can say is that it was an experience.   I would sit at my computer and the story just unfolded I don't know where it came from for the most part.  The images would come into my head, the words poured from inside through to my fingers as they flew across the keyboard.  Sometimes though I'd sit and write, then delete, write and then delete, but most of the story just came easily.  I remember sitting thinking, what is the character feeling right at this moment?  What do they see, hear, smell...and the words just came.  I remember thinking on several occasions, am I crazy??  Is the story any good? 

The few people I let read as I wrote were all encouraging, but I always wondered deep inside were they just being nice because they didn't want to hurt my feelings.  But I kept at it, and when I was done I went into editing, and had someone do my copy writing for me. But I designed everything, the cover, the text, the fonts, the format, everything.  I guess it is the designer in me that just wanted total control.  Seeing it out there and having others enjoy it and be touched has been one of the most exciting things for me.

The decision to write the second one was easier, it just took a couple of years before I could find the time to write out Mia's story. 

~~

2) Do you think authors can succeed in multiple genres or should they stick with a single genre?

I think that authors can write in different genres if that’s what they choose to do. The key is to be passionate and enjoy what you are writing about.

~~

3) What do you feel is the biggest reward to you with writing?

When I get messages from readers about how much my writing touched them or helped them through a tough time in their lives. 

~~

4) Who are some of your favorite authors & why?

There are so many, but the ones that hooked me on reading so many years ago are Mary Higgins Clark and Sidney Sheldon. I love reading Catherine Anderson, and Nora Roberts. I like how Catherine Anderson’s books are often stories of how a character pulls through a dark time or the main character might have a disability. More recently I’ve been introduced to some new authors through some of the great friends I’ve made on Instagram. Colleen Hoover is a relatively new author for me and the five novels of hers that I’ve read I’ve really enjoyed. Specifically “Ugly Love”, “Hopeless” and “Confess” I loved how she set up the story and tied things together. I like being surprised when reading a story and there were moments when I was shocked and I’ll admit shed some pretty ugly tears.  

~~

5) What are the biggest hurdles to overcome as an author?

For me it’s finding time to write and marketing. Getting the word out to the public.

~~

6) Is there any advice that you can offer for new writers?

Don’t give up. Read a lot. Find what people are reading that’s similar to the genre you want to write about. Read those and know what’s out there.

~~

7) Tell us a few random personal things about yourself personal & professional!

Some fun facts…My day job that pays the bills is not writing. Daily I’m an architect and I run my own company. I’ve been in the architecture field for almost 25 years. I love what I do. Architecture is like writing in some ways, you’re creating something and seeing it come to life. I’ve always enjoyed reading since I was in grade school. I read primarily on my iPhone and iPad with my kindle app. When I was in high school I was at a wedding where one of the guests had just won an Oscar and he had brought it and I got to hold it and have a picture of me holding it. I have two boys. I’ve recently accepted that I have a thing for pink, hot pink specifically. I had a fellow author that I met at a signing give me a free pair of Lularoe leggings, and umm.. I think I might be addicted. LOL. Seriously I’m seeing more and more authors and others start selling this clothing line and if you’ve never tried on a pair of their leggings they are the softest things 
EVER!! Mountain Dew is my all time favorite soda. I’m a vegetarian and have a weakness for all types of sweets. :)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~