Contact


Platinum Reviews Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/PlatinumBookReviews

Authors, Publishers & Editors & Cover Models, please contact me at:
Arkgirl1@aol.com
(Vicki Rose) Or through my Facebook page.

Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Falling: A Spirits & Shards Novel by A J Hawkins


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
There is only one word that comes to mind to describe the world and characters A J (Ade) has created in the first novel of his Spirits and Shards series.  AMAZING.  I was hooked from the beginning and found it difficult to stop to do things like eating and sleeping.  I had a difficult time writing my review without giving too much of the wonderful story away.  The novel is set in the world of Silandrius in the year 25032.  I found myself taking note of every difference this world had to offer.  The calculation of time, the transportation, and the beauty of a secret underground garden in the middle of the city just to name a few.  But within this world that the author has created is a story of love, struggle, and loss so relevant to the world and life we as readers live in.  Jerin is a creative, hardworking man, who due to an accident and the debilitaing effects this has had on his health, is struggling to rediscover himself, his sanity, and the reason he and his live in girlfriend, Juli have fallen in love.  Juli also finds herself dealing with the effects Jerin's accident and financial hardship has had on their relationship.  They struggle every month to make ends meet and find themselves going through the motions and living almost separate lives full of secrets that strain their bond.   I found myself realizing how important it is to slow down and appreciate what I have.  Stress and hardship will test your relationships, resolve, and your meaning in life.  But ultimately we must look past all of this to remember the love and the beauty. I thank A J for introducing me to this world and can't wait to lose myself in the next book.

Platinum Book Reviews gives Ade and Falling:

5 platinum rings!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Blurb:
Many say love will get you through the toughest times, but sometimes it just isn’t enough to pull you free of a black hole.

Despite the love Jerin found in Juli, their union placed him on a path that would ultimately lead to isolation and despair via a very unfortunate sequence of events.

As the headaches that once blighted Jerin’s otherwise care-free existence return, he is offered a new wonder-drug, never pausing to consider how strangely perfect it sounds.

Jerin soon discovers that these new capsules have a most unexpected side effect, allowing him a glimpse into the secret life of the partner he now rarely sees.

Falling is a story of love, loss and self-discovery, set in a high-concept science-fantasy universe.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Excerpt:
The air was warm and sweetly clean, filled with chatter, chirruping and the soft sough of the artificial wind through the trees’ bountiful foliage.  With Jerin’s newly sharpened senses, it was the most exquisite sensory overload.

Juli release his hand and did a summery twirl, stopping to face him, rising onto her tiptoes, bringing her lips to his, stealing a kiss which he quickly stole back as she dropped onto her heels.

He could live with moments like this.  If this could last, perhaps the next few years wouldn’t be such a toil after all...

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



Sunday, April 21, 2013

Sebastian (The Beck Brothers) by Andria Large

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
     I don't know how to put into words how much I love this series, let alone how much I love this book. I became a part of this family while reading Henry, book one. I fell in love with Sebastian: gun toting, tattoo having, recently divorced-sworn off love for the rest of his life, sexier than all get out, as I watched his perfect world crumble at his feet. Then I read this book, and can I just say.....MMMM MMMM MMMM....Sebastian is my hero. His sense of humor, his insecurities, his strength to overcome tough situations, his ability to forgive and forget, even though it wasn't easy...make Sebastian a great male lead character. Then comes Detective Raelynn, a woman after my own heart...tough, beautiful, hell on heals...When the two are together, you can feel the chemistry while reading about it. Talk about HOT!! I yelled, laughed, and cried 10xs more then I did while reading the first book. It's filled with every emotion you can think of, and it is totally refreshing to experience those emotions through the awesome characters in this series. (I would like to add, Momma Beck has totally redeemed herself, I was so happy. Although I was hoping she would hunt Victoria down when she came into town) I am becoming a romance junkie, and am super excited to say: ONE OF MY FAVE ROMANCE SERIES EVER. I am dying to get my hands on Quinn!!  Thank you, Andria....For introducing us to the Beck Brothers. For creating such realistic situations, and reminding us what REAL men are made of. ~Jaime J

Platinum Book Reviews most definitely gives Andria and Sebastian 5 Platinum Rings: *clapping excitedly* 


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Blurb:

After his wife cheated on him and then asked for a divorce, Sebastian Beck was devastated. The solution? Never let another woman get close enough to hurt him. His mind was made up. He would never fall in love again. And he most certainly would never get married again. Except, he never expected the one night that he was forced to protect his nephews with deadly force to bring him back in contact with the one woman he thought he’d never see again. 

When Detective Raelynn Reynolds bent some hot guy’s finger back in a bar a little over a year ago, she never thought she’d see him again. Honestly...she never expected to see him ever again. She definitely never expected to see him at the scene of a break-in that had a dead body just inside the back door. 

As Sebastian and Raelynn’s lives become more intertwined with each passing day, can Sebastian get over his fear of love to keep the one woman who makes him insanely happy? Will Sebastian be able to get over his fear before it’s too late? Before he could possibly lose Raelynn forever? Could fate really be that cruel?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Excerpt:

Before Raeylynn could reply, Sebastian was in front of her. He was wearing a short sleeved blue plaid button down shirt open over a plain white t-shirt that was molded to his muscular torso. His jeans were dark and hugged his long lean legs but weren't overly tight. He looked so friggin' sexy. 

"Well, well, well Detective Reynolds...I have to say you are looking mighty fine this evening," Sebastian drawled. He had a beer in one hand while the other was shoved into the front pocket of his jeans. His heated gaze raked over her again.

"I'm not on duty Sebastian...you can call me Raelynn," She said, looking up at him. Even with her seriously high heels on, he towered over her.

Nicole cleared her throat next to her..... 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 



Saturday, April 20, 2013

Winter's Tale by Emma Holly

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
***Warning: Erotic Romance.. This book is not intended for anyone under 18 years of age. Graphic sex scenes and material..
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Oh, my! I should know by now to be prepared for how hot Emma Holly can get a gal with her amazing books, considering I've been a fan of hers for ages.. But damn! Every time I think her work can't get any better, (ie: The Billionaire Bad Boys Club *swoon*) she goes and surprises me with something like this! Whew! This book gets the reader to toss away any preconceived notion of how love "should" be found and breaks through into that fantasy world that always seems just beyond our reach yet obtainable through Ms. Holly's tales...
In Winter's Tale, we meet December Wroth, a sensual, trouble-making, rule-breaking woman who has spent her whole life being shuttled from boarding school to boarding school and now at 18 years old, finds herself in yet another boarding school.. And she isn't happy about it. She just can't help her inquisitive nature and her feelings that something just isn't right about this new school.. She explores & finds a statue of a gorgeous man and he seems to call for December to help..  Hans Winter is stuck in a never-ending nightmare of living as a statue & tries his hardest to find someone to break him out of the curse that's dominated his life for years... He can't help but call out to December in her dreams.. And for a gal like December, she just can't help but respond to the magical lure from the beautifully stunning & mysterious half-elf, half-faerie, Hans.. But something or someone is out to make sure that Hans never breaks out of his curse.. And it won't hesitate to take December's life along with Hans' if she gets to close..
This tale is filled with rule-breaking steaminess, incredibly descriptive dramatic scenes, adventure galore and ohhhmygawwds hot sex! Seriously, steam up your glasses, mirror & bedroom sex! Emma never fails to disappoint with her amazing mind and the worlds she creates.. If you like paranormal erotic romance then be sure to put "Winter's Tale' and Emma Holly on your must-read list, today!


Platinum gives Emma & "Winter's Tale":
4.5 Platinum Rings!







~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Blurb:

Half-faerie, half-elf Hans Winter broke the heart of the wrong princess. Cursed to live as a statue at a school for human girls, only true love—and true bravery—can free him.
December Worth never met a rule she didn’t want to break, as the numerous institutions that have expelled her can attest. Bravery she can handle. Love she’s less sure about, especially if it involves believing in fairytales.
A kiss seems like the last thing these lonely souls would share, until one night in the cemetery where Hans stands trapped, Fate brings stone and flesh together . . .

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Excerpt:

A kiss seems like the last thing these lonely souls would share, until one night in the cemetery where Hans stands trapped, Fate brings stone and flesh together . . .
The figure was a life-sized naked man on a low pedestal, his form so white the marble he was carved from could have been sugar. The level of detail astonished her. Nails, lashes, the veins that fed each graceful muscle were all there. Whoever the man was, the sculptor had caught him with one hip shot and his head hanging. His hair was thick and slightly shaggy, his lips full and sad. Frost rimed his pale stone torso, feathers of it creating a patchwork over his washboard abs. A fig leaf the size of her hand guarded his male modesty.
“No full Monty for you, eh?” she murmured, fighting a shiver.
Wondering who he was, she crouched for a better look at the low block of granite on which he stood. When she scraped away the crackling leaves and twigs, she found no name or date. All the inscription said was, “For His Cruelty.”
“Huh.” She squinted up the tall body. Set against the dark gray sky, the marble figure appeared to glow. That was impossible of course. Grabbing the statue’s knee for purchase, she pulled to her feet once more.
How sad the face was—and how old-fashioned in its remorse! Did modern men feel guilty for being cruel? The spoiled rich boys she tended to meet through their sisters only minded being accused of it. December stepped onto the pedestal to examine the statue’s features more closely. The stone man was taller than she was: six two or three, she judged.
“Someone flattered you,” she said into the lowered eyes. “Men from your day were short.”
She thought they were at least. Who knew when this one had been born or died?
“You’re certainly pretty,” she added, noting the narrow nose and the clean carved lines of the cheek and jaw. “I confess you don’t look cruel to me.”
The night wind kicked up, skittering leaves and frost across the graveyard. December became aware of her solitude. If she screamed, it seemed unlikely anyone would hear. The school was far behind her. The woods she’d been warned were scary weren’t more than a stone’s toss away. Though the area wasn’t silent, no sounds of human civilization penetrated the dead’s abode. She felt off balance perched on the pedestal, tense in her muscles inside and out. Without thinking, she curled her fingers around the statue’s impressive upper arms. They were as developed as a gymnast’s, or maybe a swordsman’s. Helpless to resist, she rose onto the balls of her boots, leaning closer to the mysterious snow-white face.
As if they were long-lost puzzle pieces, her lips molded over the full cold mouth.
A thrill ran through her, icy turning hot where rivers of excitement hit her between the legs. The stone mouth fit hers, its lips silky and inviting despite their temperature. The wind seemed to sigh with longing. What would it be like to make love to a man like this? He was so hard, so perfect, so temptingly unable to get away.......

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
                                     ~~~FIND EMMA ON FACEBOOK HERE~~~


Lone Wolf by Jennifer Ashley (Shifters Unbound Series)


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I've been anxiously awaiting this book since I first read about Ellison in prior Shifters Unbound novels.. I mean, really?? Who can resist a smooth talking, sexy as sin, wolf-shifter cowboy with a look of pure temptation in his eyes and that delicious slow Texas drawl?! Not me! I've wanted to know every detail possible about Ellison & I've wanted to see him finally get his life story & jump into his world, head first. Let me assure you that Jennifer Ashley hit her mark perfectly! 
We learn more on Ellison & why he has such an easy-going manner & remains so devoted to his adopted shifter-town outside of Austin.. We also meet the beautiful, fiery and very human Maria, who faced down hell herself with a horrifying past that would break anyone of us. Ellison can't help but linger around this broken but amazing woman and his protective instincts kick in big time! But Ellison realizes that Maria won't be so easy-going as she has the heart of a warrior & will protect her shifter friends without fear. A monster of a man comes up & tries to threaten everything that Ellison & Maria hold dear.. Can Ellison manage to keep his soon-to-be-mate safe? Or will she jump in & protect her friends at the expense of her own life?
This is one satisfying read & as usual, Ms. Ashley weaves a fine web & draws you into the amazing world of the Shifters Unbound and once entered, it's a world you'll never want to leave... This book is an absolute must read for lovers of paranormal and romance.. It's sexy, dramatic, terrifying, mesmerizing & downright amazing! Pick up "Lone Wolf" today & fall in love with a new breed of wolf today!  ~ Vicki Rose 

Platinum gives Jennifer & "Lone Wolf":
5 Platinum Rings! 



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

Ellison Rowe, a Lupine Shifter, makes it his goal to protect Maria, once held captive by ferals, from male Shifters looking for mates. He likes Maria's resilience and fire, but she's been broken, and Ellison wants more than anything to heal her. When a new danger threatens Shiftertown's cubs, Maria partners with Ellison to stop a cold-blooded criminal.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

EXCERPT:


Ellison Rowe, a Lupine Shifter, makes it his goal to protect Maria, once held captive by ferals, from male Shifters looking for mates. He likes Maria's resilience and fire, but she's been broken, and Ellison wants more than anything to heal her. When a new danger threatens Shiftertown's cubs, Maria partners with Ellison to stop a cold-blooded criminal.
Ellison eyed the office door between him and Maria, a barrier he needed to break down. That Liam formed another barrier made him growl in irritation.
Maria lived in Shiftertown under the Morrisseys’ protection, staying now in Liam’s brother Sean’s house. She’d been brought here by Liam’s dad a year ago after she’d been rescued from the feral Shifters down in Mexico. She’d then gone to stay with her brother, who lived way out in El Paso and who had sponsored her to get her a visa. But the brother had made it clear that he, like her parents still in Mexico, considered Maria ruined goods and a disgrace to the family.
Maria had returned to Shiftertown after six months, and Liam made sure she got hired on at the bar he managed. In her off time, Maria cleaned houses, ran errands, and looked after cubs for Shifters who paid her. She worked nonstop, her energy amazing. Ellison’s sister had said, with a laugh, that Maria could be a Shifter with stamina like that.
Liam brought out a broom from behind the bar, then the great alpha Feline, leader of his pride, his clan, and all of Shiftertown, went to work sweeping up the glass. Spike, one of the most formidable fighters in Shiftertown, grabbed a mop and started helping him.
Another Lupine stopped next to Ellison—Broderick, who was in the second wolf pack in Shiftertown. Ellison’s pack was very small. Most of his clan had died out in the wild, their immediate family going just before Shifters took the Collar, leaving Ellison, his sister, and his sister’s tiny cubs alone. Shiftertown had been good to them, letting the boys, Jackson and Will, grow up unharmed.
“She’s ripe,” Broderick said. He was watching the office door, behind which Maria rested, his gray eyes intense.
Ellison tightened, the wolf in him tense, readying itself to take down a rival. Ellison kept his voice mild when he said, “I think she smells pretty good.”
“I mean she needs to be mated. Soon. Now.”
“I know what you meant.” Asshole. “But she’s off-limits.” Liam and Dylan had made that clear. “To you, to me, to all Shifters.”
“That’s bullshit. This is a Shiftertown full of mateless Shifters. And she’s fair game.”
Ellison didn’t bother to answer. Fair game was a female without a mate, a clan, a pack or pride. A female whose mate had died and who had no family to return to was considered fair game, as was a female stolen from another clan. Unmated, unprotected. Shifter leavings was another term Ellison had heard.
Maria wasn’t quite the same. First, she was human, and second, she was definitely under Morrissey protection.
Good thing she was. As soon as Maria had returned to Shiftertown, intending to stay a while, male Shifters had started sniffing around. Maria had formerly been mated to a Shifter, she smelled of Shifters, and Shifters were desperate for mates.
Including Ellison.
“She’s off-limits,” Ellison repeated with a growl.
Broderick laughed. He was tall and rangy, with a buzz cut and white gray eyes. “And don’t you just hate that?”....


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
                          ~~~FIND JENNIFER ON FACEBOOK HERE~~~

Friday, April 19, 2013

Henry (The Beck Brothers) by Andria Large

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
   How do I describe my experience with Henry *contemplating my answer* I am not a Romance fanatic..but recently I have read several "popular" romances. Tortured male, tortured female, having shady backgrounds and starting a rocky relationship together...blah, blah, blah....NOT what you get when you read this book. Henry is not harboring any hidden secrets, and Claire has laid her cards on the table from day one. Neither character was looking for the other, but love and an adorable child, had different ideas. Being the oldest of four brothers, with an extremely over protective mother, love wasn't in the cards for Henry. Claire, a single mother who was intent on raising her son alone, never thought she would find herself in the situation that arises after working as a personal assistant for Henry for several months. Insert the Beck family, and you will be instantly hooked. Momma Beck will give you a run for your money as you shake your head at her overbearing antics while your hearts are battling over which Beck Brother is your favorite. (personally I am team Sebastian) I was taken on a roller coaster of  a ride with this story..starting from lust at first sight, to yes...no...OMG...situations. I honestly bawled my eyes out the last several chapters. I greatly appreciate Andrea for the sneak peak of the next book. I am desperately awaiting the arrival. 
   Platinum Book Reviews give Andrea Large and Henry 5 Platinum rings.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Blurb: 

Henry Beck, the gorgeous CEO of an advertising company, was in need of a new personal assistant. He expected HR to hire someone older, more experienced, maybe even with gray hair. Who he got instead was the beautiful, young, single mother - Claire Russell. A woman who he is having a hard time keeping his eyes off of...

Claire never expected her new boss to be the most gorgeous man she's ever laid eyes on. She also never expected him to be sweet to her two year old son, Ethan. But Henry is her boss and there is no future with him. Or so Claire thinks...

Will Henry and Claire be able to fight the obvious attraction between them? Will Henry's overbearing mother come between them? Or will a freak accident change their perspectives on life and what's most important...


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

EXCERPT:
Henry had closed his eyes, enjoying his sandwich when he felt like he was being watched. When he opened his eyes, Claire was watching him, a small smirk curling her lips. "What?" he asked after he swallowed. 
"Nothing, you just seem to be really enjoying that sandwich," She murmured, a small flush creeping up her pretty cheeks. 
"I am enjoying it. They make the best sandwiches here," Henry stated. 
"Okay," Claire said, shrugging, as if she didn't agree but she wasn't going to argue.
Henry narrowed his eyes at her. "You think you know of a place that's better?" he challenged.
"Not necessarily. You have your favorite place and I have mine," Claire said, an amused twinkle in her blue eyes.
Henry raised an eyebrow in question. "Is that so? Where is this place that you love so much?"
Claire smiled and it made his damn heart stutter. "It's a few blocks away from where I live."
"And what makes them so much better?" Henry asked, liking their little banter. It was refreshing. 
"I'm not sure. I think I like their rolls better," Claire said.
Henry snorted and took another bite of his sandwich. ....
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

                                        ~~Find Andria Here On Facebook~~

Compass by Jennifer Gibson

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Having read Sway, a novel based on a true story by Jennifer Gibson, I was ready to dig right into the sequel, Compass, as soon as I received it.  The novel started where Sway left off telling the story of Jessie, a hearing impaired teenager, whose life if anything but ordinary.  Imagine all of the hardships many teenagers face amplified due to a handicap that some choose to use as a reason to poke fun and behave with malice and hate.  Jessie’s journey is made easier by a supportive boyfriend, loving parents, and two pet cats that seem to understand her better than anyone she knows.  She focuses her energy on sports, academics and helping children like her who have found themselves facing hardships.  The author’s descriptions of how one would experience the world as Jessie does pulls the reader right in and puts us in the middle of the story.  I found myself clenching my fists with anger one moment and crying the next as I read of the treatment Jessie received from students and staff in school.  Jessie is an amazing young woman who handles everything she is faced with maturity that rivals most adults and never lets her handicap bring her down.    I will be anxiously awaiting the next book in this trilogy to see how Jessie continues to handle what she has been dealt with in life.


Platinum Book Reviews gives Jennifer Gibson and Compass: 

4 platinum rings!

\
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Blurb:
Being a teenager is hard enough. To be hard of hearing on top of that is like being stuck in the middle of a never ending soap opera.

In Compass, the sequel to Sway, Jessie's life begins to change its course, sending her toward a new reality. When her world is suddenly ripped apart by an angry rival, the one person she trusted to stand by her side simply walks away. With her composure shattered, Jessie questions everything she believed about herself, and as her life takes her on a new path, it turns into a perilous journey full of surprising twists and turns.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Excerpt:
Random thoughts swirled around in my mind and our shoes squealed and squeaked loudly on the gymnasium floor as we started our light jog, warming up for practice.  I kept thinking about how it seemed as if I was stuck between two worlds.  I wasn't considered to be a fully-hearing person nor completely deaf.  I didn't really fit in either group.  I felt as if I was twisting in the wind as I pondered about where I belonged in school and life in general.  It seemed as if I was stuck in the middle of a never-ending soap opera......

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~





Thursday, April 18, 2013

Pangea: Eden's Planet by Tom Johnson

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    This book absolutely surprised me. I was thinking it was going to be your run of the mill, done a million times, sci-fi space exploration...but boy was I wrong. This book was very original, well written, and thoroughly researched. The characters were a perfect blend of different personalities, all having "quirks" to make them relate-able to the reader. Each individual was picked for their different skills to help on this mission, and they were all perfect in the role they played. I was eagerly turning the pages to learn what "new" findings greeted the group each day of exploration. The detail the author put into these prehistoric findings was exceptional and articulate. The interactions between the characters, had me laughing out loud at times, and certain situations left me broken hearted.  By time I made it to the end of the book, I was hoping that it was going to lead into another to be released in the future. Tom didn't actually say it wasn't, but I was very pleased that he gave me closure and insight as to what happened in the following years for the characters.

 Platinum Book Reviews gives Tom Johnson and  Pangea: Eden's Planet 
 4 platinum rings. 


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Blurb:

Pulp adventure returns to science fiction in “Pangaea: Eden’s Planet”.
Seven astronauts en route to Mars encounter a time warp in space that disables their ship. Crash landing on Earth, they discover an alien planet sixty million years before the dinosaurs. Pangaea, the super continent, is filled with danger and terror, as they must survive against fierce reptiles that ruled the Earth 250 million years in the past! 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Excerpt:

"That looks like Earth," she said. "We are being pulled back to Earth by its magnetic field!"
"Look at it closer, Colonel," Carl Plymouth told her. "It may look like Earth, but ..."
"The continents don't look right, Sir," Captain Mercer said. 
"I don't see any continents, Captain," Major Cooper said. "I only see one continent - a big one!"
"Did that thing - whatever it was - warp our speed to another solar system?" Sheri asked. 
"Let's wait to for Carl's analysis, Sheri," Major Cooper told her. 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



Tuesday, April 16, 2013

Cursed by Georgina Hannan


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
      This book reminded me of an episode of The Twilight Zone, one of my fave shows as a kid (yes I still watch it today)! Unexplainable events, weird noises, memory loss, ghostly encounters, old town myths and legends...everything you would expect in a "creepy" classic read! I honestly would've finished the book in one sitting, had work not been so busy. 
       Georgina Hannan put a lot of thorough detail into the history and background of the groups vacation spot, which created a vivid detail of their surroundings in my head. I wish she would've indulged a little bit more information on the mysterious village folklore because I am somewhat lost and unclear about several things. I will DEFINATELY read Obsession, so the pieces to the puzzle of the figure in the window won't haunt me for all eternity, I'm dying for closure! And in all honesty, as I read page after page, I "saw" the book in black and white, just as you would a classic horror show....with one exception ...I can still see, and feel, "The Beast of Dartmoor's" red eyes. 
        Platinum gives Cursed and Georgina 3.5 Platinum rings ~Jaime J
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~    
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Blurb:

 A young adult story about a group of four friends who embark on a holiday together to the gorgeous countryside of Dartmoor, Devon, each of them hoping for an adventure, something they will always remember. However it isn't long before they get what they want. The group are plagued by noises after hearing the myths and legends of the area. Is it just their overactive imaginations or is there a visitor in the spare room who is trying to get their attention? Join the group on a spectacular journey as they discover what Dartmoor has to offer.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Excerpt:

The house was surrounded by dense trees and open moorland. All the colours danced in front of her and she was overcome by how beautiful the whole area was. 
Behind the luscious dark trees lay vast green grass with bright purple yellow flowers breaking up to the green. The green varied from light to dark and Daisy was sure the dark patches were bogs. She could just make out a heard of white sheep on the hill. She smiled to herself because at first she had thought it was a low lying cloud. 
Daisy felt a sense of excitement building in her tummy as she thought of relaxing and fun days that lay ahead of them. 
Looking around, Daisy thought to herself: despite a somewhat rocky start, now that we're here and I see all of this, I really am glad we decided to take this holiday

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~





Night Visions by Elena Gray

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I am a huge sucker for a good paranormal romance and Elena Gray did not disappoint with Night Visions. From the beautiful cover to the last page I was pulled in, anxiously turning every page. The story introduces us to Sam Cade, a bestselling author, who lives a quiet life with her dog, Ginger. As the story progresses we learn that Sam’s life is not as quiet as it appears. She is haunted by visions and whispers in her head and feels that she is missing a big secret part of her life. Will her best friend, Ian, who left her six years earlier be the key to unlocking these secrets? Or will the voices telling her not to trust him possibly be referring to the sexy hunk of a man she has known her whole life. The story of Sam and Ian picks up pace and becomes more suspenseful with every passing page. But Elena Gray does not stick to the suspense and mystery. She shows the reader a glimpse of true love and romance that will cause goose bumps. I loved the story being told from the point of view of both Sam and Ian and felt that added to the beautiful descriptiveness that made me feel like I was standing in the middle of the action. I look forward to reading the next story in this series and seeing what Ms. Gray has in store for us.


Platinum gives Elena and Night Visions:


5 Platinum Rings

                                                
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Blurb:
Plagued by visions and voices, Samantha Cade must be losing her mind. Until she realizes there's a hidden message waiting to be revealed. Just how, she'll have to figure out.

When Ian Behr reappears in her life, after six long years, dormant longing awakens. To survive this turmoil, she'll need to guard her heart.

Will Ian be her doom...or her salvation?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Excerpt:
Who is this guy?  Ceaser Millan?

Ginger never let anyone, let alone a stranger, within 100 yeards of her without baring her teeth or deciding if she'd use them as a chew toy.  Sam opened her mouth to tell him he was trespassing, but the words were trapped in her throat as he turned to face her.

A sense of deja vu washed over her.  There was something familiar about him.  His presence...his demeanor...his eyes...

Then he smiled.  A crooked smile that stole the air she breathed.  A rush of memories came flooding back.  Of her childhood.  Of happier times.  Of him.

Ian Behr.

He's disappeared from her life after their first stolen kiss on the dock.  A kiss that forever changed her life. Where had he been for the past six years?  Why didn't he say goodbye?  Why didn't he call?  Anger blazed in her soul.  Mind-numbing anger.  Ian had left her heartbroken, not respecting her enough to say goodbye.  But staring into those hazel eyes shattered the silence in her heart and it began to beat again.

He was still her Ian.  Except he wasn't a boy anymore.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sunday, April 14, 2013

Rip: Touch by Daniel Sherrier



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TOO SHORT, TOO AWESOME, I WANT MORE. This short story has me wanting to shake Daniel Sherrier and ask him why in the world he would tease me like this. I am completely in awe with his writing, I mean come on now, he set up this series perfectly with this short...not too much info, not too little info..the perfect combination to enthrall any reader into wanting more. I love a good GHOST story, and this one didn't disappoint! Smartass Angels, Batty ghosts, a main charrie who is one of the Seven and who has been reunited with an old friend (who I hope becomes his main interest, the attraction is obviously there), and of course, right at the end, Zeno the phantom. I'm so ready for Rip to kick some ghostly butt with the help of Serissa and Kalli! I give this book 4.5 platinum rings... 
~ Jaime ~ Platinum Reviewer




Platinum gives Daniel & Rip: Touch: 4.5 Platinum 
Rings!




~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Blurb:
Opening yourself up to a whole new world can leave you vulnerable -- but it's the only way to grow. That's what Rip Cooper has to do when he learns he can perceive ghosts with his five senses as if they were flesh and blood people, and he's just as solid to them -- in fact, the only solid thing to them. This young loner has to overcome his fears and kill dead people to prevent them from corrupting the living. He works alongside an impure angel and his ex-best friend's ex-girlfriend as they teach him how love can conquer fear.

RIP is a series of novelettes that tell one larger coming-of-age and redemption story.

In this premiere episode, "Touch," Rip may be a successful freelance photographer making a name for himself in a new town, but personally, he's in a rut. No friends, no goals, no greater purpose. He's going through the motions...until the "angel" Serissa informs him he's "one of the Seven.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Excerpt:

Two new people faded into view. Maybe not so new…

This pair, a middle-aged man and woman, gave the speaker their full attention. No one else seemed to notice their arrival. But Rip did. Or had he simply missed them earlier? He checked his camera’s preview screen, but he couldn’t find them in any of the group shots he’d already taken. Granted, the faces were tiny, but none of the people he’d snapped so far were wearing those immaculate white shirts and pants.


“Not only that,” Bob continued, “but our investigators have all reported experiencing sensations of serenity while standing within this frame structure. And we don’t always experience the good stuff like that.” Rip zoomed in on the new couple and took their picture. He checked the screen.


They didn’t photograph. Did he miss? No, how could he miss?........


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
                         ~~~FIND DANIEL HERE ON FACEBOOK~~~

The Immortal Scrolls by Kristin Secorsky


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Wow! Kristin Secorsky has clearly succeeded where others have failed.. She has managed to bring Greek mythology, Roman Gladiators, Vamps & werewolves together and ohhhmymymy.... It works together in such a fantastic way! Ms Secorsky sets up the worlds perfectly and makes you feel like you are right there with the characters, whether it's a gladiator fight or a modern day archaeological dig!
We are introduced to the heroine, our beautiful archaelogist Skye who happens to also be an immortal, Araceli from the days of gladiators!  
Sky meets Andy, who helps decipher some scrolls found on a dig and she is drawn to him but isn't sure why.. He reminds her of someone yet the memory stays out of reach.. Little does she know that Andy is really her former gladiator lover Androcles and he wants Skye back in his life..
However, Androcles is being watched carefully by his vamp creator Amara, who wants to see Skye dead and will literally stop at nothing to achieve her goal!
Can Andy help Skye remember the past & their love, before Amara gets her wish & destroys Skye once and for all? Will both of them perish before their love is remembered? Or... Can they somehow work through this and search their pasts and end up together before fate plays another cruel trick?
This book is non-stop action & combines so many great characteristics, that you'll never want to put it down! Whether you are a fan of paranormal, mythology, gladiators or drama, this book has it all! It should be a "must-read"  for you, today! Ms. Secorsky is one author who will always have my attention, after reading this fantastic work of art!

Platinum gives Kristin & "The Immortal Scrolls":
4.5 Platinum Rings!


 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Blurb:
Cursed with immortality, Androcles has been mourning the loss of his beloved Araceli for centuries. Until Skye, a beautiful archaeologist, discovers the scrolls he wrote recounting his life and rebirth as a vampire. Androcles goes to destroy his scrolls and his secret but is taken aback by Skye's striking resemblance to Araceli. Androcles grows more obsessed with Skye who has secrets of her own. Dangers from his past are closing in as Androcles starts to unravel Skye's mysterious past. Set in ancient Rome, Britannia, and modern day Italy, The Immortal Scrolls is an irresistible love story you won't want to put down!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Excerpt:

Her back was to him, and her shoulders were shaking. He knew she was crying. She was a strong girl, but this was too much.
“Domina,” he said in a low, gentle voice. He wanted to reach out and comfort her. “If you want my opinion, you should choose the legatus. He is the better choice. At least you would have some chance at happiness,” he said, though it pained him to do so. She was silent. “I couldn’t bear the thought of you married to that vile senator,” he said in a low voice. He took a few steps closer to her.
“You can’t bear it,” she said in a whisper. “I would rather die. How can my father be so heartless? I never thought about marrying without love.” She turned around to face him. Her beautiful face was streaked with tears.
Androcles walked closer until they were almost touching. He raised his hand and wiped the tears off her cheek. Araceli closed her eyes when he touched her. Then she opened her eyes and looked deep into his. “Why do you look at me like that?” she asked.
Androcles almost didn’t trust himself to speak. “How?” he managed to say.
Araceli looked down. “You said it’s different when you are in love. I wish I could know at least once,” she said in a loud whisper. She looked back at his handsome face. “Show me, Androcles,” she said shyly.
Androcles was stunned. “What are you saying?” he asked.
She reached her hand up and touched his cheek. “Isn’t it obvious? I love you, Androcles,” she said. “I know it’s crazy. It’s too fast.”
“Araceli,” he said. Androcles put his arm around her and pulled her to him. He cupped her chin with his hand and gazed deep into her eyes. “I have loved you from the moment I saw you,” he said huskily.
Araceli smiled and closed her eyes. He kissed both eyelids ever so gently as if to stop her tears. Araceli’s heart was racing as she waited for him to kiss her. It felt like years, not seconds, before his lips met hers. He kissed her lips tenderly. She opened her mouth a little, and he slipped his tongue inside. His hand that had been on her chin dropped down to her shoulder.
Androcles tore himself away from her.
"Araceli, we can’t. This path will only lead to heartbreak for the both of us. I am your guard. Your father will never allow this,” he said.
Araceli looked crushed. A loud clap of thunder sounded overhead. “You’re right,” she said sadly. “This can never be.”
Androcles leaned over and kissed her softly on the lips. She broke away tearfully and headed for the stairs of the guard tower. Androcles cursed the gods for being so cruel.......


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
                        ~~~FIND KRISTIN HERE ON FACEBOOK~~~

Thursday, April 11, 2013

Outback Exodus by Dawn Millen


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

**Platinum Note: This review was provided by Jaime Jones, a NEW Platinum reviewer whom we have decided to add to our site. Please make Jaime feel welcome & I hope you enjoy her reviews! ~ VRS



An enthralling tale of humanity...PERSONIFIED!
You would think waking up to complete, utter silence would be a rare joy. You could kick back with your feet up, chillax, and revel in the peace & quiet. But Jenn didn't...her ever rambunctious dogs were eerily huddled down, obviously scared of something awful, the routine morning birds chipper chatter was non existent, and the hairs on the back of her neck rose, warning of immediate danger, just seconds before her world was rocked, and life as she knew it was changed forever. 
Join Jenn, as she picks up the pieces to her home, her life, and her countryside, on a quest for civilization. Follow her, and the other survivors on their rough journey to recover, thrive and develop some sense of normalcy, after their world was devastatingly turned upside down. Where their will to live, sheer determination, teamwork and camaraderie trumped all the lose, heartache, and fear they faced during this terrifying tragedy. 
This book had me on emotional overload, and not in a bad way. I was on the edge of my seat from start to finish. The words and detailed survival instincts, flowed from page to page, and had me seriously thinking - What if this had happened to me? The awe inspiring story had me feeling like I was one of the survivors. I could smell the stew boiling, feel the ground shaking, and enjoy the beautiful Australian sunsets as if they were right there in front of me. Just when I thought they had made it safely, that Jenn and her sister would find out the fate of their parents...it was over. Well played, Dawn Miller, well played. Hands down 5 Platinum Rings! ~ Jaime


Platinum gives Dawn & "Outback Exodus":

5 Platinum Rings!




~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Blurb:

An earthquake that shatters the land and puts the lives of many into a complete spin. Follow the journey of the survivors from the Australian outback to the coast.
Our hero's are real people with real problems and the solutions are real solutions. This story follows 252 people as they trek across the outback and avoid the pitfalls on the way.The storms, the crevasses in the land and the vulnerability of humans as they pit themselves against nature in her rawest forms. Along the way they find the bonds that draw survivors together during disasters. 
Join the journey of Jenn, Gavin, Rhys, Caren and their friends and families as the Outback Exodus unfolds.



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Excerpt:
The drive to Smithtown was slow and we had many stops to clear fallen trees and many diversions across the paddocks to avoid crevasses and sand bogs that had blocked the road. There were fences down everywhere and cattle and sheep wandered the roads causing further dangers to vehicles. Five weary hours later we see the township ahead and things look no better here than at John Creek. The dust pall is bigger and there is smoke mixed into the dust from burning buildings. The destruction is on a massive scale with hardly any buildings untouched, so many have little left standing and the fires have burned through great areas of the township. The suburban sprawl and smaller blocks of land mean that once the fires started it jumped from house to house very quickly.

We can see the hospital sitting atop the hill in the centre of town and it looks relatively undamaged, just a few shattered windows and some of the brick façade has fallen from the clock tower at the top. As most of the frontage is covered with a vine it is possible that the damage is worse than we can see. The vines may be hiding it from view. We will know more when we get to the building. It is the first place we will head for as it would be a refuge for the injured and for those assisting them. I just hope that there are others here who have survived.

Pulling up on the front lawn of the hospital we see that things are not as intact behind the façade as we thought, but that there is movement and life in the building. The automatic doors are wedged open just enough to get a stretcher through and inside the casualty department there are people milling about. Not many people and most have bandages on their bodies covering the wounds from the quake. Shock and confusion abound around the department and the staff members are overwhelmed by the number of people who have injuries that they are unable to treat. The theatres are damaged and there are so few personnel to perform surgery. With only three Doctors and six nurses left and over two hundred survivors with injuries ranging from minor to major there is little hope of being able to save everyone, and so many will not survive today or the days to come. I help where I can throughout the day. My old skills coming to the fore, I tend to minor wounds, check on drips and give pain medications. I do find myself present at the deaths of so many we are unable to help as they succumb to their injuries, the only help we can give them is pain medication so they do not suffer unduly. Sadness rules the memories I will carry of this day, closing the eyes of small children for the last time, seeing mothers and fathers crying for those already lost or for those who will be lost, it breaks my heart. Soon I am weeping too, along with the grieving community, grieving for them, for the friends I have lost and for myself and the life that was and will never be again....
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
                  ~~~CLICK HERE TO FIND DAWN ON FACEBOOK~~~

Wednesday, April 10, 2013

Special Deliveries: Life Changing Moments by D.J. Kirkby



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

**Platinum Note: This review was provided by Charissa Nelson, a NEW Platinum reviewer whom we have decided to add to our site. Please make Charissa feel welcome & I hope you enjoy her reviews! ~ VRS


Upon opening Special Deliveries by D.J. Kirkby, I had no idea what to expect. I did not read a blurb or excerpt from the book. After reading the introduction and discovering this book was a compilation of short stories reflecting experiences the author witnessed during her time as a midwife, I was admittedly a little worried that it wouldn’t be quite up my alley. Boy was I wrong. The book is separated into sections dealing with everything from love and special bonds parents have to births that involve deep grief and unexpected sadness. I found myself completely enthralled by the stories and the author’s descriptions and personal snippets had me laughing, crying, cringing, and sitting on the edge of my seat. Unable to put the book down, I finished it in one sitting. Being a mother myself, I was amazed at the miracles, strength, humor, strange requests and everything else Ms. Kirkby encountered during her career as a midwife. Do not let the subject of this book steer you away. It is a must read and you will forever have a different view on pregnancy and childbirth. 
This is a 5 platinum ring read all the way!

Platinum gives "Special Deliveries & Ms. Kirkby:
5 Platinum Rings!



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Blurb:
Singing vicars, baby whisperers, divas, deviants and more! Find out what really happens behind the closed doors of labour rooms, on inpatient wards, during outpatients clinics and inside homes. Special Deliveries is crammed full of stories about life changing moments that will appeal to anyone with an interest in pregnancy, childbirth and parenting.
Identifying factors and events have been altered so that all the stories within this book, although based on elements of factual midwifery practice, have been fictionalized in order to maintain the anonymity and / or confidentiality of those the author cared for and worked with throughout the years.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Excerpt:

Oh yes, the glamour of being a midwife
just goes on and on, let me tell you. The chemical needs to end up behind the
cervix at the very top of your vagina and to get it there via the natural method
using sperm women need to have sexual intercourse in the doggy- or
cowboy-style positions. It is at this point in the conversations that I always
hold my breath for just a few seconds, hoping that the couple will admit to
knowing what these positions are so that I do not have to go on and describe
them further. On one occasion I even had to resort to drawing the position out
for a woman whose English wasn’t very good and who had refused to have
her husband in the room for the conversation. I felt drawings would help
ensure that she understood exactly what I was saying but my artistic skills are
rudimentary at best and I had to resort to drawing stick figures. She got the
message but laughed until tears leaked from her eyes at my artistic rendering,
folded the paper and stuck it in her pocket. When her husband was brought
back in she began speaking to him in their own language, patting her pocket
and laughing again. I didn’t dare ask what she was saying to him about the
induction methods we had discussed but I suspected that it wasn’t anything
complimentary about my drawings. However, her laughter was contagious
and the room felt light and happy long after they had left...



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
                                   ~~~FIND D.J. KIRKBY HERE ON FACEBOOK~~~