Contact


Platinum Reviews Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/PlatinumBookReviews

Authors, Publishers & Editors & Cover Models, please contact me at:
Arkgirl1@aol.com
(Vicki Rose) Or through my Facebook page.

Sunday, February 24, 2013

Sunrise At Sunset by Jaz Primo

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
First, I'll start by saying that when I looked into reviewing this book, the author, Jaz Primo kept telling me that it wasn't like the usual vampire novels that I've read.. I'm thinking.. 'Ok, Well I've read a bit of everything so I'm not sure how it could be different..' But of course, it intrigued me & I opened it up... The man is not only a great author & human being, he is also a freakin' genius! I literally could not put this book down & I read it in a weekend! And yes, the extraordinary Jaz was right. This certainly wasn't the usual vampire novel. And it totally rocked! 
We are introduced to the beautiful vamp, Amber, who feels, after centuries of walking the world, she is ready to end it by seeing her first sunrise as a vampire and turning to ash.. She suddenly changes her mind but she is already critically injured from exposure & ends up taking shelter in a garage, where an 8 year old Caleb saves her life.. She ends up saving his life in return through a series of happenings she puts into action, to repay him for the favor... 
Flash ahead many years.. Little Caleb is now a gorgeous book-worm history teacher at a local community college. And Amber is now the sexy red-head alpha-vamp Katrina, with a changed identity to roll with the times.. She is drawn to Caleb, her little "Angel" and ends up enrolling in his classes to check up on him.. She isn't prepared for the surge of lust she feels now that the little Caleb is a grown-up hottie.. One thing leads to another and she finds herself having to confess her nature to Caleb. He doesn't take it to well.. Runs in fear, actually.. But after a few rough starts, he decides she is worth the risk, as he feels that irresistible pull to her, as well. 
However, an evil vampire from Katrina's past emerges into their new future with her eyes & fangs set on Caleb. Katrina will do everything in her power to protect her new love, even calling in favors from vampire friends of the past... But as the evilness builds, will it be enough to save herself & Caleb? Or will she lose her love forever?
This is one amazing novel! You know it's going to be awesome when you don't even want to put it down to sleep, and that was me for a bit! This is certainly a unique take on the classic vampire paranormal romance & let me assure you... It will knock your socks off! It truly deserves to be called a spell binding page-turner of epic proportions! I don't want to give any spoilers here when I say it's different, but trust me.. Run out to pick it up & see the kind of awesome "different" that I'm talking about! This is one author & series that are going to be a permanent part of my reading collection for many years to come! I'm not easily impressed by new vamp novels but this fantastic one-of-a-kind book & one-of-a-kind author both have me hooked for life!
~~~~~~~~~~~~

PLATINUM REVIEWS GIVES JAZ & "SUNRISE AT SUNSET":
5 PLATINUM RINGS!!



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Blurb:
When is a bloodthirsty predator the best protection against
a psychotic killer? 
When the predator is both a vampire...and the woman you
love.
Caleb is bravely overcoming a dark past while having no memory
of the beautiful vampire that saved him.
Despite a promise to stay away, Katrina is compelled to
return to him.
However, a vengeful rival from her past has dire plans for
both of them.


"We vampires are focused and tend to shape our own realities."
My name is Katrina Rawlings, and I am a vampire. I declare that with neither pride nor ego. I am simply nature's most dangerous predator. On occasion, it's a very valuable quality. It helped me protect Caleb Taylor one day when he was very young. But that single, traumatic day is behind him now; wiped from his memory, or so I hope. Caleb has finally matured into a rather striking young man, and believe me, I like what I see. I'll readily admit that there are issues for us to confront and overcome, though a sense of mutual commitment isn't one of them. I'm feeling hopeful for our future together, in fact. But an adversary from my past has returned to haunt me, and she's trying to get back at me through Caleb. That was her first...and last...mistake. I'll protect my Caleb at all costs, and I'll make her regret the day she was born. So, I suppose that I'm not just a vampire. I'm about to become someone's worst nightmare!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
EXCERPT:



“Caleb, I think honesty is so important between two people, and there’s something I want to tell
you,” she began with a resolute expression, her green eyes catching his pale blue ones intently.
“Yes?” he asked after locking eyes with her gaze.
Her hands felt soft around his, but they had grasped his hand tighter after her last statement. Is
she bored with me? he wondered. Or worse, maybe she doesn't feel the same connection to me that I’m feeling for her.
“I've had a number of relationships in my time,” she began awkwardly. In my time, she thought
ironically. If he only knew. But then, perhaps in a few minutes he will.
Oh no, Caleb thought, maybe she senses something in me that reminded her of a previously failed relationship.
His hand flinched between hers.
She quickly detected his flinch and asked with concern, “Is something the matter?”
“Me? Not at all,” he replied a little too quickly.
She narrowed her eyes at him slightly before reverting to a more relaxed expression.
“Relationships are hard for me. It’s hard for people to accept me as I am,” she continued carefully.
“Okay,” he nodded. Oh great, he thought, she’s going to tell me she’s a lesbian.
“You see, I’m not like most people you know,” Katrina continued.
He raised his eyebrows.
She immediately realized that things weren't proceeding like she’d hoped. She was stalling, and it
was apparent he was becoming confused. The palm of his hand had already started to perspire a
little between hers.
“For example, I’m not a day person at all,” she stated matter-of-factly. “In fact, I can’t be in
sunlight. You might say my sunrise begins at sunset.”
His eyes widened slightly. Okay, he thought, she has a disease that keeps people from being in sunshine?
“Oh, I saw something about that on a Discovery Channel program about a year ago,” he offered
encouragingly. “It’s not as uncommon as you might think, really.” It might help explain why we’re were
never able to get together during the daytime, he thought with some relief.
Katrina arched one eyebrow and shook her head. “No, you don’t understand,” she tried to
correct him. “Those people have a disease. I don’t have a disease. It just hurts me to be around
strong ultraviolet radiation.”
“Um, okay,” he replied with a single nod and a deepening frown. UV radiation sensitivity, he
contemplated wildly.
“It’s the result of a genetic mutation,” she explained. “Like a
medical treatment gone wrong?” he inquired with an expression of disbelief.
“No, it wasn't a medical treatment. It’s…” she tried to continue.
“Government experiment?” he interrupted.
She frowned at him and corrected, “This has nothing to do with the government.” Thank
goodness, she thought to herself as an afterthought. Her kind definitely tried to keep governments
from being involved, which would probably be disastrous, at best.
Her clarification seemed to stump him for a moment, but she could tell that his thoughts were
already racing. She had no way of knowing that he doubted her sanity at that moment.
“Okay,” he conceded politely. “Anything else?”
“I don’t like to eat most normal human foods,” Katrina added carefully.
Caleb winced. What the hell? he wondered wildly. Normal human foods? It was turning into a
conversation from hell for him. Well, she does normally order salads when we go to restaurants, he recalled.
“So, you’re a vegetarian?” he asked hopefully as he started to pull his hand from between hers.
Uh-oh, Katrina thought as she allowed him to withdraw his hand. She hadn't realized that she
had been holding her breath, and she exhaled a heavy sigh. “I’m what society would best describe as
a vampire,” she said finally.
Caleb actually laughed out loud once, then seemed suddenly ashamed, and quickly clasped one
hand quickly over his mouth. And I thought Melanie was half-crazed, he mused darkly.
“I’m so sorry,” he apologized. “You just sounded so...”
“Serious?” she offered helpfully.
“Um, no,” he corrected without actually using the word “crazy.”
“I’m quite serious,” she insisted evenly.
“It’s just that vampires aren't real, Katrina,” he added with a growing sardonic grin. “I mean, I
love vampire horror films as much as the next guy.”
His tone sounded somewhat condescending, and she resented his speaking to her like some
superstitious child. “Oh, but we are real, Caleb,” Katrina retorted heatedly as her eyes glowed green
in the dim light of the lamp.
Caleb jolted slightly in surprise and demanded, “How did you just do that?”
Something dark stirred in his memory for just a split second, and it sent a chill up his spine.
Then it was gone, like some fleeting flash from the past.
Katrina took a deep breath to relax and regained her composure as her eyes returned to their
normal green hue. She didn't want to upset him further and risk continued misunderstanding. Have I
just made a terrible mistake? she wondered.
“Caleb, it’s what I've been trying to tell you,” she continued gently.
Had the light from the nearby lamp merely caused an optical illusion? he wondered. And yet, why
did the sudden change in her eyes seem somehow strangely familiar to me?
He suddenly felt edgy and irritated that the evening had taken such a negative turn. Mostly he
was disappointed by it all. He’ had hoped their connection was the beginning of something special.
Now it just seemed that Katrina was just another of society’s misguided souls suffering from some
sort of mental illness. He sighed, and she looked into his eyes curiously.
“Caleb?” she asked tentatively and reached out to grasp his hand in hers again.
But he pulled back from her outreached hand with a jerk and rose to stand from where he sat
next to her. “I’m very sorry, Katrina, but I think I better go,” he said nervously.
She sat where she was but pleaded gently, “Caleb, please sit back down so we can discuss this.”
He shook his head and turned to depart in the direction from which they came. “I’ll call you,
Katrina,” he added almost as an afterthought, but it was an empty comment that he immediately
knew he didn't mean.
He felt about as disappointed as he could recall in his adult life. Katrina was supposed to have
been someone special to him. He’d been falling in love with her, after all. Now everything felt like it
was melting away in a matter of minutes. The help she needed was far beyond his ability to cope
with, and at that moment he felt he just needed to leave so he could sort out what just transpired
between them.
“Caleb,” she called as she watched him walk away, his pace quickening after he briefly glanced
back over his shoulder at her. “No,” she whispered angrily. “Not like this.”
She was determined not to let him depart on such bad terms. At the same time, she silently
berated herself for not having taken a better tack with him on the subject. It had been so many years
since she’d confided her secret with someone she thought she could trust. She’d obviously lost her
touch completely. In a split second, Katrina rose from the bench more quickly than any human
could and raced ahead of him in a blur of motion.
Caleb was staring down at the sidewalk as he walked, but he thought he heard something swish
by him in a dark blur to his right. He glanced up and saw Katrina standing in front of him with her
arms folded across her chest. He frowned, glanced back to the empty park bench down the path,
and looked back at her. His eyes narrowed slightly.
“How did --” he started to ask.
“Please, Caleb,” she began.
He shook his head and turned to walk in the opposite direction. “Goodnight, Katrina,” he said
as he walked away. This time, he kept his face upwards but realized he was going in the wrong
direction. He rolled his eyes upwards and muttered, “Crap.”
Suddenly she appeared before him seemingly out of nowhere. “You’re going the wrong
direction, Caleb,” she offered gently.
His eyes widened with complete surprise, and he jumped slightly as he realized that he hadn't
even heard her footsteps before she appeared before him. He backed away from her quickly, and
this time he kept his eyes on her as he withdrew.
Katrina seemed to stay where she was, and he turned to walk quickly away from her. Only this
time his pulse was quickening and his nerves felt deeply unsettled. What the hell?
She heard his heart racing even from the distance between them and called after him, “Caleb,
please stop.”
He began running down the path and glanced over his shoulder to see if she were still there, but
she was already gone. He quickly jerked his head forward and saw her waiting with her arms crossed
in front of her again. Only this time, her eyes were burning with a bright green illumination.
Abruptly, something sharp triggered from deep in his memory. His eyes widened as he stared
back into her eyes. An intense shock went through his body, hammering at his chest and burning in
his stomach. He didn't understand where it came from or why, but he knew immediately what it
was: sheer terror. His heart felt as if it was going to burst from his chest. Something visceral from
his distant memories yelled, Run!
Katrina saw the nearly simultaneous transformation in his eyes and heard his heart suddenly
erupt in thundering beats. Confusion ran through her as she tried to gauge what just happened to
him.
Caleb spun to his right and sprinted perpendicular to the sidewalk path and into the nearby trees.
Terror gripped him like a claw tearing simultaneously into his mind and heart. All that he knew was
that he needed to escape. He picked up speed and dashed through the trees, thinking he could elude
her somehow.
She watched him divert from the path in a blaze of sudden speed as her mind raced for an
answer to what was happening to him. She hastily recalled something about the topography of the
area that forced a sense of dread through her stomach and swiftly began to pursue him while
shouting, “Caleb, stop! There’s a ravine!”
Caleb was unknowingly heading towards the deep drop-off located beyond the trees just past the
manicured portion of the park. It fell off for about forty feet from the ground with a number of
large rocks interspersed among the low brush all the way to the bottom.
He thought he heard Katrina calling to him again, but he kept running and maintained an
impressive speed as he sprinted across the grass and between the tree trunks. Suddenly, the grass
was taller and small bushes appeared, but he kept sprinting blindly into the darkness. He was
winded, but still making good time and glanced over his shoulder to see if she were pursuing him.
Suddenly, there was emptiness under his right foot, and he felt himself tilting into open air...........


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
                                     ~~~~FIND JAZ HERE ON FACEBOOK~~~~
                            ~~~BUY SUNRISE AT SUNSET ON AMAZON HERE~~~
                                  ~~~BUY SUNRISE AT SUNSET AT B&N HERE~~~

Friday, February 22, 2013

Raphael/Parish (Bayou Heat) by Alexandra Ivy & Laura Wright

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I've been a longtime fan of Alexandra Ivy with her fantastic Guardians Of Eternity series & I couldn't wait to get Bayou Heat in my hands.. And ohhh, my goodness.. It was so worth the wait! This book was freakin' hot! Alex teams up with the amazing Laura Wright for this series & the first book, Raphael/Parish Bayou Heat is one hell of combination! These gals sure know how to write and make a reader stand at attention! The descriptions make you feel like you are right smack dab in the middle of the bayou with all these sexy shifters surrounding you! 
We meet Raphael, first. He's a Pantera "suit", aka: diplomat, but a damned sexy one at that! He unexpectedly met up with the delicious human, Ashe and lo & behold, she ended up pregnant! Oh, hold the phone!! What? Oh, yes.. And the Pantera have not been able to impregnate a human so what is going on here? This portion of the book takes you through hard-headed Ashe's fight to stay the strong single gal she is, but she can't resist Raphael when he turns up the heat! (Really, who could?:) And then, bam! Someone is on to her & trying to wipe her out of existence! Can Raphael save her before this mysterious group of unknowns end up killing his beautiful Ashe? Or just as bad, possibly even himself?
And then on to Parish's part of the story. This is one hard-headed, stubborn but internally devastated Pantera shifter.. He's a Hunter & following orders to get Dr. Julia Talbot back to the Wildlands to help deliver Ashe's baby.. But the moment he catches his first sniff of the gorgeous but broken Julia, he wants her for more than just a Pantera doctor.. He wants her for his own.. Julia is shocked yet astounded at discovering the existence of the magical Pantera and she can't help feeling just a bit like melted chocolate when Parish is near her.. But Parish is still hurting from the loss of his sister & Julia is trying to overcome a horrible relationship mistake, not to mention that the same group that was after Ashe is now after her! Can Parish manage to keep Julia safe & talk her into being his mate? Or will the bad guys manage to take Julia's life before he gets the chance?
This is one hell of a combo book! I am anxiously awaiting the next installment! It's only a .99 cent download, so get over to Amazon or Barnes & Noble & snap it up! You'll be loving these sexy Pantera shifters & the Bayou Heat surrounding them! 

Platinum Book Reviews gives Alexandra & Laura & Bayou Heat: 
5 Platinum Rings!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Blurb: 

RAPHAEL

The brilliant and dangerous diplomat of the Pantera shapeshifters, Raphael has devoted his life to discovering the key to the infertility that is threatening the extinction of his puma race. Creating a vast network of spies worldwide, he never expected to discover that the answer might be beneath his very nose. But when Ashe, a beautiful human female, crosses his path, his most primitive instincts are stirred. Unable to resist, he takes her to his bed, and is shocked when she becomes pregnant with his child. It’s a miracle that might prove to be the salvation of his people, but only if he can keep her safe from the mercenaries determined to kill her.

PARISH

Untamed and undeniably sexy, Parish, leader of the Pantera hunters, rarely leaves the magic of the Wildlands to deal with the humans he despises. But with the prized and risky Pantera birth on the way, puma shifter, Parish must travel to New Orleans to find and bring back a human doctor. The moment he sees the lovely, talented and all too human Dr. Julia Cabot he cannot resist the wild, potent drive to make her his. Betrayed and destroyed by love, Julia will not let her heart choose her path again. But as she and Parish fight to save the life of an unborn child, a fierce and overwhelming bond develops between them, threatening her frozen heart with the secret hope and ultimate temptation of love and family.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

                        ~~~CLICK HERE TO VISIT ALEXANDRA ON FACEBOOK~~~

                              ~~~CLICK HERE TO VISIT LAURA ON FACEBOOK~~~

Wednesday, February 20, 2013

Shameless by Rebecca J. Clark

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Wow! Fair warning, my friends.. If you pick up this delicious book, be prepared to steam up the room! Rebecca J. Clark is another new-to-me author and ohhhhmygawdss.. This gal knows how to write steamy! 
Ms. Clark introduces us to John, gym owner & a gorgeous, successful hunk of a man who is still trying to make amends for a horrifying accident he was involved in, many years ago.. He seeks out Samantha, who was involved in the accident all those years ago, and finds out she is positively gorgeous & successful herself, & he can't help but want to get a little closer to her, to make sure she holds no ill will or resentment from her part in the accident.. From the first moment, sparks fly between these two! Well, the sparks coming off of Sam's tongue, that is.. She isn't about to let a twice-divorced playboy come into her life & try to use her heart so she isn't all that willing to date John, but after some girl-talk & thinking on it, she decided to go through with it.. And wow.. Good choice, for sure! However, will she feel the same if she finds out that John was one of the people who was involved in that long ago accident that left her with a broken back? Or will she throw him out of her life for good? Besides the obviously hot sex scenes in this book, Ms. Clark adds in a great secondary story about John's own fears of commitment & having children & the life of the inner city-kids that he works with through a club sponsored by his gym.. 
A truly engrossing & oh-so-steamy novel that asks the age old question.. Can you forgive & forget or will the past haunt you forever??.... This is a definite must read for any lovers of contemporary romance.. Steamy, dramatic & intense, this is a novel you won't soon forget! Run out & pick it up today! Ms. Clark is a wonderfully eloquent & graceful author & she knows how to tell one amazing love story..
~~~~

Platinum Reviews gives Ms. Clark & "Shameless":
4.5 Platinum Rings!


  




~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Blurb:

Haunted by a tragic accident 20 years ago, John Everest knows he doesn't deserve a family of his own, so he spends his days building the most successful fitness franchise in Seattle...and his nights alone. But that all changes when Samantha Rossi storms back into his life.

Happily single, Samantha feels there are only two types of men in this world: those who are good for nothing and those who are good for one thing. Now she needs that one thing desperately, because she wants a baby. John, a man from her past, is the perfect donor. He doesn't want children. He doesn't want a wife. He just wants her body. She can deal with that.

John agrees to Samantha's no-strings-attached proposal, never expecting to fall for the fiery beauty he'd wronged so many years ago. It'll take more than a shameless proposal to overcome their tragic past, but with a little luck and forgiveness, anything is possible.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
EXCERPT:


John deleted the last three paragraphs he’d just spent twenty minutes on. Writing a grant for the youth center wasn’t nearly as tough as keeping Samantha Rossi off his mind. He couldn’t remember the last time he’d been so physically attracted to a woman. Every facet of her looks was ingrained on his memory, from her luxurious hair to her luscious lips to her curvaceous figure.
That wasn’t good.
He didn’t need to be attracted to Sammy Jo. Okay, so he couldn’t help himself. He just needed to be damn sure he didn’t act on that attraction. Of course, with her negative reaction toward him at the Extravaganza, he doubted he’d get the opportunity. He was surprised she hadn’t jumped at the chance to get out of the date.
He’d met countless beautiful women in his time, but none had had this effect on him. He couldn’t stop thinking about her. That had never happened to him before, and he wasn’t sure he liked the sensation.
Chalking it up to relief over how well she had turned out after having spent years wondering about her, he glanced at his watch. He still had a few minutes before he had to leave to meet her at the corner Cavanaugh’s, as she’d refused to let him pick her up at home.
He was punching out some numbers on the keypad when he heard clicking heels in the hallway outside his office, then a knock on the door. Assuming it was Margo, his assistant, he called out, “Come in.”
The door opened and Sam Rossi stepped onto the plush beige carpet. He took one look at her and said, “Good God.”
He knew it was rude, but he had to stare, needed to let his eyes drink in every bit of her, starting with the black stilettos. His gaze traveled up her shapely legs. The skirt of her dress was just long enough to be considered legal, he was sure. And the dress itself — whew! Blood jetted into strategic parts of his anatomy. It was a shimmer of clinging silver following her every curve. The sleeves were long and fitted and the neckline scooped low enough to tempt him without revealing too much. Her glorious mane of hair swirled over her shoulders in a sexy jumble of dark waves.
“Good God,” he said again.
She laughed and stepped further into the room. “Is that all you can say?” A velvety black coat was draped over one arm and her hands clutched a sequined purse.
He shook his head and stood, circling the desk to stand of front of her. With those high heels, the top of her head just about reached his eyes.
He’d only have to bend his neck a little to kiss her. Don’t think that!
“What are you doing here?” Checking the time again, he said, “I thought we were meeting at Starbucks.”
“I got into downtown early and took the chance you’d be working late.” She glanced around. “Nice office.”
“Uh, thanks.” At a loss for words and coherent thoughts, he motioned to the burgundy leather couch against the wall opposite his desk. “Have a seat. I just need to, ah, finish something real quick, then we can go.”
Her hips swayed as she went, and his gaze followed the hypnotic movement. She deposited her coat and purse on the sofa’s wide arm, then sank onto the plump cushions. Leaning back, she crossed her legs, one shoe dangling off her toe, the skirt of her dress damned close to revealing heaven. God...
He didn’t know what had prompted this change of attitude in her, and with any woman other than her, he wouldn’t question his good fortune. But the small part of his brain not yet on hormonal overdrive
warned him to watch his step. This was Sammy Jo he was drooling over. Sammy Jo. If she knew who he was, she’d claw out his eyes with those long, red nails. He couldn’t forget that.
Sitting at the computer, he saved his work and closed out of the software program. The comfortable creaking of leather sent his gaze back in Sam’s direction. She had risen from the couch and smoothed
her skirt over her hips.
Smiling, she came around the desk. “Are these your kids?”
She reached over his shoulder for a framed photograph on the shelf. The side of her breast came tantalizingly
close to grazing his jaw.
Searching for his equilibrium, he glanced at the picture. “Uh, no. Those are my brother’s kids. Tori and Harlan.”
“Cute.” She replaced the frame on the shelf beside a miniature dumbbell he used as a bookend. “Do you have kids?” She headed back toward the couch.
“Uh, no. No, I don’t.”
“Mm. Married two times, yet no children.” She sent him a questioning glance over her shoulder.
How did she know about—? Ah, yes. The Extravaganza. His face heated. His marital history wasn’t something he was proud of. At all. “We didn’t want— I mean, I didn’t want— Not every marriage
produces children.” Christ almighty, his speaking abilities with this woman ranked right along with his four-year-old nephew’s. He needed to change the focus from himself. “What about you? Any kids?” Of course he already knew the answer to the question from the P.I.’s report.
She reached behind the couch to open the blinds. Her dress came dangerously close to revealing heaven again, but somehow it remained in place. “No. Do all these windows look out on the club?”
“Yes. It lets me keep an eye on things.”
She peered out the window overlooking the Olympic-quality weight room. “Do you like kids?”
“Other people’s kids.”
“You don’t want any of your own?”
“No.” Wait a minute. John narrowed his eyes. He’d been around women before who were on the prowl for a husband. He hadn’t pegged Sam Rossi as the marriage-minded type, but this conversation sure sounded suspect. Was that her agenda? God, he hoped not. “Okay, Samantha. Why all the questions? What gives?”
Her sudden laughter surprised him as she turned away from the window. “Relax, big guy,” she said, coming over to perch on the edge of his desk, giving him a nice view of her thigh. “I’m not looking to be the third Mrs. John Everest, if that’s what you’re getting at.”
He breathed an inward sigh of relief. “Marriage and kids aren’t in the cards for you?”
She stood and put her hands on her hips. “Do I look like the marrying kind?”
Most definitely not, he mused, raising his eyebrows.
No, Samantha Rossi wasn’t the wifely type. She was more the type he’d like to—
“So, don’t worry,” she said, interrupting his inappropriate thoughts. “I’m not looking for a husband.”
He flicked off the computer and circled the desk. “What are you looking for?”
One perfectly arched eyebrow lifted. “Sex......”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
~~~~ FIND REBECCA HERE ON FACEBOOK!~~~~

Dinosaur Lake by Kathryn Meyer Griffith

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Kathryn Meyer Griffith is a new-to-me author.. I wasn't quite sure about picking up a book, involving dinosaurs... But barely 10 pages in & I couldn't put it down!! As much as this book sacred the living daylights out of me, I kept picking it back up, night after night, because it was interesting, terrifying & addictive, all at the same time! I'm going to be adding Kathryn to the list of my favorite authors, for sure! 
Dinosaur lake starts out by introducing us to the Chief Park Ranger, Henry, who moved to Oregon with his wife, after a shooting on the job as a New York City cop made him realize he needed a change.. He is happily settled in with his wife, his job & enjoying life, making sure park goers stay safe & introducing them to beauty of the park. An earthquake ends up shaking the ranger & the days tour group up a bit and also reveals a wall of dinosaur fossils.. Henry is fascinated & immediately puts a call in to the local institute that deals wit fossil findings. The paleontologist, Justin, comes out & is surprised to see that this is possibly a new species of dinosaur and he & Henry become fast friends.. And then, the scary starts up.. Animals are found mauled on the lakes edge, and people are disappearing. Henry & Justin hear rumors of a monster on the lake & after the disappearance of 2 tour boats & their captains, they decide to go investigate & get the biggest scare of their lives.. Their truly is a dinosaur in the lake.. And it's not just a lake-dweller, either.. It starts coming to shore to eat & attack.. Justin believes that the dinosaur egg must have been in stasis in the underground caves in the caldera & the earthquake uncovered it & the heat from the active volcano incubated the dinosaur & it hatched. Henry & Justin are both racing against time & their own terror, trying to figure out what to do with the parks newest toothy resident & also to save the many people who live in the parks nearby towns, along with visitors, as well.. But as the disappearances get worse, they realize the dino is growing & becoming more bold.. Will they be able to round it up & possibly wipe it out of existence before they are next on the dinosaurs lunch menu? You need to pick this book up & find out!
 Ms Meyer Griffith puts incredible detail into her research & one could almost believe such a thing could occur..  Every night that I read this, I ended up putting a nightlight on for bed time, and to me, that makes for one heck of an awesome horror novel.. I kept saying to myself that this book would also make one hell of a great horror movie! Hey, producers! You listening?? Wow! I'm truly a fan of this marvelous lady & can't wait to pick up more of her work.. For fans of scary stories with a hint of romance in them, pick up Dinosaur Lake, by Kathryn Meyer Griffith today! A definite must-read, filled with action, adventure, adrenaline-inducing fear, along with a light dose of love, on the side.. This book is definitely a keeper!
~~

Platinum Book Reviews gives "Dinosaur Lake" :
4.5 Platinum Rings! 

 


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Blurb:

An ancient predator has been reborn in the caves beneath Crater Lake...
...and it's hungry....... 
Ex-cop Henry Shore has been Chief Park Ranger at Crater Lake National Park for eight years and he likes his park and his life the way it's been. Safe. Tranquil. Predictable. But he's about to be tested in so many ways. First the earthquakes begin...people begin to go missing...then there's some mysterious water creature that's taken up residence in the caves below Crater Lake and it's not only growing in size, it's aggressive and cunning...and very hungry. 
And it's decided it likes human beings. To eat.
And it can come up onto land.
So Henry, with the help of his wife, Ann; a young paleontologist named Justin; and a band of brave men must not only protect his park and his people from the monster but somehow find where it lives and destroy it...before it can kill again. ***

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Justin heard the commotion first...
In the stillness of the night a loud swishing of powerfully churning water came from far away, moving closer. On the air trembled a soft cry, the sound filling the caldera as an echo filled a canyon. Something rose up underneath the boat. Henry would remember later that in the horror of the moment, as they were lifted high into the air, that Sam Cutler had been right, it was bigger than two houses. The boat plopped back down onto the lake, the whirling engines grinding, water splashing everywhere, soaking both of them. Another bounce like that, Henry thought frantically, and the boat would capsize.
“My god,” Justin yelped. “It really is a monster!” He sounded like someone who’d just watched the sun explode up in the sky. “I’ll be damned,” Henry mumbled, attempting to swallow. His body
was frozen. Only his eyes could move, but they were glued to the creature’s steep side. He couldn’t believe what he was seeing, though in the dark and the chaos of the attack, all he could actually make out
was a mass of dark scaly skin as the boat slid down along side of the creature.
He captured a flash of a thick neck, a huge blob of a head, two glaring crimson eyes and a wicked slash of sharp whiteness that had to be teeth as big as a man’s hand. All in all, their attacker was a nightmare that froze him and Justin to the boat’s rail, holding on for dear life as the boat beneath them bucked and rocked.
The thing was moving fast...
Justin’s head lifted upwards on his neck, his eyes gawking up at the thing. He screamed.
The beast replied with a deep-throated gurgling rattle of a roar.
Justin stammered under his breath, “Forgot to mention, I hate the water. And I can’t swim!”
“Now you tell me,” Henry tossed back. “Don’t worry, your life preserver will keep you afloat. If you go over, paddle like hell!”
The boat repeated its jump. The fiberglass creaked torturously beneath them.
“If we go in the water will it try to eat us?” Henry voice was a hoarse whisper.
“I’m not sure. No way of knowing. If it’s a descendent or a mutant of a species like Pliosaur, its ancestors were flesh-eaters. They ate anything they bumped into.” The boat was lifted a second time, bouncing it high into the air, then it came down violently, nearly capsizing.
“It’s trying to sink us,” Henry cried above the din. The bullets he’d taken in the line of duty hadn’t scared him half as much as what he was feeling now. But he’d never seen the bullets coming. This was different. He couldn’t miss the monstrosity slamming against the boat, playing with them as if they were a child’s toy.
Then as swiftly as the water beast had appeared, it was gone.
The lake beneath and around them became calm. The boat lunged forward, the engines loud on the night air.
Long seconds went by.
Shuddering, on his knees, Justin whispered, “It’s gone.”
Henry crouched by the rail, listening. It was hard to hear anything over the loud thumping of his heart. “That was close.”
“I’ve daydreamed about when dinosaurs walked the earth,” Justin’s voice was ragged. “I always thought it’d be neat to see one. I don’t think so now. The shock alone could give a person a heart attack.”
The paleontologist came off his knees to lean against the rail beside Henry. He wiped the water from his face, in the faint light, his eyes wide and glazed. “Ha, imagine, and I didn’t want us to hurt it–as if we
could have.” An acid laugh escaped his lips. “That thing must be gigantic, by what we glimpsed of it. That tail and head went on forever. And did you hear that awful sound it was making, a rumbling snoring roar?
It sounded as if we were under a waterfall.”
“Yes,” was Henry’s only reply. He was still listening.
“What are we going to do, Mr. Ranger? Should we make a run for the shore or what?” Henry stood up slowly, moved over to the controls and shoved the throttle full open. He put out the other hand to grip Justin’s shoulder. “We get out of here as fast as we can.”
They heard the water and the roaring noises resume around them.
“It’s coming back!”
“I know,” moaned Justin.
The boat began to rock harder. The beast was near.
Later Henry believed Justin’s inspiration and quick thinking were the only things that saved them. “Noise! It’s attacking the noise from the engines…and it sees the lights.”
“Then we turn off the engines and the lights! If we play dead, it might leave us alone.
“And I’ve got a gun,” Henry added, a hand on the Sig in his holster.
“I can shoot it.”
“Forget that,” Justin hollered. “That pin prick would probably just make it madder and it’d come after us for sure.”
Henry shut down the engines and switched off the power.
“Flashlights off, too,” Justin breathed.
They blinked into darkness. It’d been a moonless, overcast night, with creeping fog to help hide them. Henry felt as if he were floating in outer space, no stars, no other light source, just endless eternal blackness.
“Justin–”
“Shhh,” Justin hissed, yanking the ranger down next to him.
The wild pitching of the boat ceased but Henry’s stomach remained in turmoil.
They waited for a long time for the creature to make its next move...
Nothing. It was as if the disturbance had never happened........

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
                                            ~~~FIND KATHRYN HERE~~~

Saturday, February 9, 2013

A New Beginning For Amy by Maria Taylor

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
This is a short, charming romance about love & new beginnings by the lovely Maria Taylor. This is Ms. Taylor's second novel & it's a great one for lovers of classic love stories & magic combined.. 
We meet Amy, an 84 year old lady, slowly dying in a care center, who has never been given the chance to love. She is visited by a woman who gives her a book that somehow sends her into the past. She ends up in the body of another Amy, in Salem, 1962, prior to the witch trials.. She is a servant in Jim's home & she slowly realizes that she is falling in love with this gruff man who had his heart broken previously, in a terrible way.. She works to bring Jim out of his shell & he slowly realizes he is falling for Amy, as well. However, her mysterious appearing & disappearing from the future to the past makes her a prime suspect as a witch.. Will she manage to survive through the horrible witch trials & be able to make it back to her beloved Jim? Or will her second chance at living a life with love, end in a terrible & destructive manner?
It's a definite must-read for someone who adores classic romance stories with heart. Maria Taylor has great potential to build on her writing experience & create some wonderful novels. Give Ms. Taylor a chance at showing you what she is capable of & run out to purchase "A New Beginning For Amy" today..

PLATINUM BOOK REVIEWS GIVES MARIA & "A NEW BEGINNING FOR AMY":
4 PLATINUM RINGS!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
BLURB:

From 84 to 21 with just the opening of a book. Amy Wilson retired school teacher, who loves to read romance novels, gets a hold of a very special book,and she finds more that what she bargains for. She is taken back in time to the year 1692, during the Salem witch trials. She is there to find love, a new beginning, but what she finds out is that there is another Amy one who has a dark past, a past that becomes her own. A chance for love maybe a waiting death sentence. Will Amy find love and her new beginning or will the evil of the town turn Amy's fate into disaster.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
EXCERPT:

A few hours later Amy woke up and realized she had fallen asleep watching over
Jim, but how did she get back in her own bed?” “And where was Jim?” She quickly
slipped on her shoes and combed her fingers through her hair. She rushed into Jim’s
room, but he wasn’t there.
Panic and grief stricken she ran into the kitchen searching for him.
“Where is he?”
52
“Just calm down, Amy.” Dolsey said as she stared at Amy’s pale face.
“He’s dead isn’t he?" Amy put her hands over her face and tears began to form.
“Amy he’s ……
“Fine, thanks to you.” Jim said as he walked up behind her.
Amy stared at him with relief.
She rushed into his arms before she knew what she was doing and through her arms
around his neck and softly cried.
“Thank God!’ Amy sighed.
“Amy?” Jim said staring down at her with a puzzled look.
“Yes.” She said resting her head on his shoulder feeling complete for the first time in
her life.
“What are you doing?” Jim smiled at Ms. Dolsey’s wide grin.
“Oh, I’m sorry, I guess I just got carried away.” Amy slowly pulled away rom him and
wiped the tears from her eyes.
“I’m just so glad that you’re alright is all.” Amy blushed and turned to walk away.
Jim didn’t know what to say to her, but feeling her arms around him had felt so
comforting and so right.
“Amy, wait.” Jim placed his hand on her shoulder.
Amy slowly turned around to face him.
“Thank you for what you have done for me.” “Dolsey told me everything.” “It took a
lot of courage to face the council and I just wanted you to know how grateful I am.”
Jim looked at her, really looked at her with his honey brown eyes and Amy knew he
was finally speaking from his heart.
“If there is anything I can do to repay your kindness…
“You already have.” Amy interrupted quietly.
“I have?’ Jim said with confusion.
“You looked at me.” Amy said with tears in her eyes.......

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
         ~~CLICK HERE TO VISIT MARIA TAYLOR ON FACEBOOK~~

Safe And Sound by Lindy Zart

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Review done by: Tina Cochran Hargis (Reviewer Name: Tina Marie)

~~
This is my very first review for Platinum Book Reviews and I am honored to do this and it is also the first time I've read any works by Lindy Zart.. I can tell you that she has gained a fan for life!!!  I love the way she can draw you into the story.  As she describes each character, I can easily envision them as I walk through the pages of their lives.  I cant wait to read more!!!

We are introduced to Lola Murphy, a seventeen year old who up until a year ago, lived a pretty normal life with her mother, Lana, in Morgan Creek, Wisconsin.  Her life had seen some sadness with the passing of her father when she was younger but her mother did what she could. A year ago, things were happy. A year ago before Bob Holdren. 

Her mother took a job at the local Ray-O Vac factory, working third shift. Lana met and married Bob Holdren soon after starting at the company. That’s when everything changed for Lola Murphy. Nothing will ever the same again. No one knew, no one understood, no one even cared… or so it seemed. 

Lola finds the one person who understands all too well the fears, the pain and the bruises that her life has become over the last year. The one person who will give her the strength to fight.  The loner with those pale green eyes and shaggy black hair, Jack Forrester. 

In this amazing story you will find a young woman about to breakout of her reality to find a lost relative, who can finally answer questions her mother had always tried to avoid. Rekindle friendships that she thought she had lost forever and to find the love she never knew could exist. I would highly recommend this book to any and all who truly enjoy a great story.  

(A million thank you's to Vicki Rose for giving me the opportunity to read and recommend such a wonderful story by an amazing author. ~ Tina Marie)  
~~~~~~~~

PLATINUM REVIEWS GIVES LINDY & "SAFE AND SOUND":
4.5 PLATINUM RINGS!!






~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Blurb:

This is Lola's story. She has a secret no one can know. Once a safe haven, her home has turned into a prison, and she fears if she doesn't somehow escape, she will lose herself completely.

She finds her escape in Jack; a troubled young man with a cynical smile and eyes that see all Lola tries to hide. But even Jack can't save her from the evil at home.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
EXCERPT:


Every night for the past two weeks when Lola got home from work,
there he stood. This night was no different. He’d either somehow
managed to find out her work schedule or he simply liked to stand
outside in the cold and dark for whatever reason.
Lola had a sneaky suspicion he had a hero complex and felt it was his
duty to make sure she made it home from work okay every night.
The irony of that did not escape her.
She wasn’t in the mood for his charity, for his guilty conscience trying
to make up for past snubs by looking out for her now.
With the pale glow of streetlamps directing her to him, Lola strode
across the street and toward Sebastian. The grass was stiff and
crunched under her shoes. Even in the dark she could see his
eyebrows lift as she approached him. Sebastian’s hands were shoved
in the pockets of his jacket, his breath left him in short spurts of frosty
air.
Lola’s nose and hands were cold, but the pull of her warm bed
wasn’t enough to keep her from confronting him.
She stopped a few feet from him and looked up at him. His gray eyes
met hers as he silently waited for her to speak.
“Stop it.”
Sebastian cocked his head. “Stop what?”
“Stop… this.” Lola waved a hand at him and her.
“Stop standing in my yard?”
“I don’t need you looking out for me. I don’t want you to. I’m fine.
Always have been, always will be.” Her throat tightened at the lie.
“I happen to like standing outside and it’s my yard, so I can.” She
remembered that look. He’d worn it when they’d argue, when he
wouldn’t admit to being wrong, when he made her do something she
didn’t want to do, but knew would be best for her.
“In the dark?”
“In the dark. And cold. And snow. And heat. Even in the rain.” He
leaned close and said, “Whenever I like.” Lola didn’t know whether
to laugh or get mad. Instead she made a sound of exasperation.
“Fine. Whatever. Freeze. See if I care.” Lola spun on her heel.
“Is everything okay, Lola?” he called after her.
She paused, but kept walking. “Yep. Everything’s okay.
Perfect. Wonderful. Super. Couldn’t be better.”
“I think you’re lying.”
“I think you’re lying.”
That stopped her. No one had called her out before .....

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
BONUS! USE THIS COUPON CODE ON SMASHWORDS FOR MONEY OFF THE BOOK!

                            ~~~~~~~~~~~~~     BM46H         ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
           ~~~~CLICK HERE TO VISIT LINDY'S AUTHOR PAGE ON FACEBOOK~~~~

Friday, February 8, 2013

Impetuous by Nicole Morgan

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Wow! I absolutely loved this book by the gorgeous Nicole Morgan! This woman sure knows how to write a steamy romance! I actually ended up putting the book down during one scene to go take a cold shower! Ms. Morgan has a knack for writing sexy contemporary erotic romance. Her books are always detailed perfectly, right down to the last sexy garter!
This book introduces us to the beautiful and VERY independent Jenny Jacobson, a woman with a mind of her own & no room for an over-bearing man. Jenny is the person in charge of running a resort property that she has worked with for years which has recently changed hands from the previous owner & into the lap of a corporation that won't listen to Jenny and her reasoning for needing a decent staff. The cutbacks are so brutal that she takes it on herself to start doing repairs in the resort.. And this ends with in disaster, as Jenny, who is a great manager, ends up not being much of a repair woman.. And it also ends up with a really hot, sexy alpha stud named Thomas Beck on top of her! Jenny is too independent to let Beck try to help her when she knows she can't afford to hire him on, because of cutbacks. But she can't deny the draw she feels toward this sexy, hard-bodied babe.. One disaster after another happens & Jenny ends up with the shocker of a lifetime.. Is the gorgeous drifter that she is falling in love with, actually a deceiving lying scoundrel? Will she lose her chance at happiness because she can't trust Beck & his mysterious ways? Or will they find a way to move past all of the accidents & lies of the past and make a future for themselves before Jenny loses her job as the resort manager? 
This book is so steamy that you'll definitely be needing a glass of ice water by your side! It has equal parts of intense drama, emotions running high & incredible, passionate & oh-so-yummy sex scenes that will leave you hot under the collar and wanting more from the fabulous Nicole Morgan! For lovers of contemporary erotica, this book is a definite must-have and is on my list to re-read again & again! Run over & add "Impetous" to your TBR list today! 

Platinum Reviews gives Nicole Morgan & Impetuous:
5 Platinum Rings!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
BLURB:


The Callaway Corporation recently bought the high-end resort property Jenny Jacobson manages. In that time, they have micromanaged both her and it into the ground. With no budget for repairs, she does most of the work herself. She proves to be pretty handy with most of the daily mishaps, until she meets the mysterious drifter Thomas Beck.
In the middle of a plumbing emergency, Beck comes to her rescue and fixes the problem, saving her from further disaster and costly repairs. Despite her best attempts, she cannot seem to get away from this man who shows up at every turn.
Regardless of her cold treatment toward him, he turns on his charms. Will his cocky arrogance mixed with his sexy smile break down her tough exterior? If so, what secrets is Beck keeping that could ultimately ruin any chance they have to find happiness together?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
EXCERPT:


In the far corner of her office, next to her potted palm tree, sat the
bucket of tools she had been avoiding all morning. Glaring at them,
she pushed out her chair and got up from her desk. She took off her
blazer and neatly hung it on a hanger then placed it in her small office
closet. She kicked off her heels and grabbed her tennis shoes. Sitting
down on the small sofa that flanked her desk, she laced them up,
double-knotting the bows. Two deep breaths later and she walked
over to the bucket holding her wrench, hammer, screwdrivers, and
plumber’s snake and strode out of her office.
She approached room 115—the room Mrs. Grierson had made a
complaint about earlier that morning—and used her master key to
unlock the door. Luckily, she was able to sneak in without anyone
seeing her. No witnesses meant no explanations. The last thing she
needed was to have to explain to a staff member why she had a bucket
of tools in hand.
“Oh God.” Her whole body cringed when she walked into the
bathroom.
She closed her eyes and turned away for a moment, silently
hoping and praying that when she looked back it would have all been
a dream. No such luck, though. The leak Mrs. Grierson had reported
was actually a lake—a very large lake, in fact, which was flooding the
entire bathroom in one of their nicest suites.
“Well, here goes nothing.”
Jenny walked through the water which was rising to as high as
one inch. Her shoes were soaked inside and out after just two steps,
making an awful squishing noise. Luckily the bathroom had a step
down from the main living quarters so there was no immediate danger
of it flowing into the living or bedrooms of the suite.
Hesitation wasn’t an option as she knelt in inches of water on the
tile floor. She studied the pipe that had water pouring from it for a
moment before she reached for her wrench. Something her
grandfather had told her when she was little stuck in her mind.
14 Nicole Morgan
“Righty tighty, lefty loosey.”
“Hmm.” She smiled.
The concept was so simple, really. Why she had been so worried
about having to try to fix a silly, little plumbing problem, she wasn’t
sure. Righty tighty. Lefty loosey. No sweat!
Much more relaxed and pleased with herself, she grabbed her
wrench, adjusted the fitting to be snug around the pipe, and turned to
the right, pulling the wrench away from her and toward the wall.
Oh no!
Water shot everywhere, all around her, covering her and
everything within five feet. Recovering from the shock of what had
just happened, she squinted her eyes, trying to keep the spraying
water from obstructing her vision. With water pummeling her directly
from the fitting she had inadvertently loosened, she could barely tell
where she was placing the wrench. After fumbling through a few tries
she finally had the tool snug back around the fitting.
Finally!
She pulled the wrench in the opposite direction and…”Oh, shit!”
She screamed the four-letter word loud enough for people to hear her
on the top floor.
Somehow in her efforts to tighten the loose fitting she had instead
managed to break it, causing a full rush of water to shoot out at her.
Not unlike Old Faithful, the diligent geyser in Yellowstone National
Park, the pipe erupted with such force she was nearly dumbfounded
by it.
“No, no, no, no!” she continued to shout.
“Oh my gosh. Jenny, are you okay?”
Marianne’s voice came from behind her, but she didn’t turn to
look. Instead she sat staring at the eruption before her, drenched and
completely frozen in disbelief. She wanted to do something, but had
no idea what.
Hands touched her shoulders then moved down and wrapped
themselves firmly around her upper arms. Suddenly, she found herself
Impetuous 15
being moved out of the way. She was able to catch a glimpse of a tall
man with brown hair. He was saying something, but she couldn’t
make out what it was over the rushing sound of water.
Then, as if he had magic hands, he reached below the antique
pedestal sink and turned a knob. The water, which had been coming
out at her as if it was on the attack just moments ago, slowed down to
a light flow, then a drip, then finally nothing at all.
The water shutoff valve! How could she have been so stupid? Not
sure if she was overworked, overwhelmed, or just overwrought, she
felt completely mortified that her inaction could have made things so
much worse.
Her epiphany was interrupted by the tall, wet stranger asking,
“Well, did you?”
“I’m sorry? Did I what?” she asked him, confused and still
frazzled by the events of the past minutes.
A smile cocked up on one side of his mouth. “I asked if you had
considered shutting off the water valve before doing any plumbing
repairs.”
For the first time since he’d walked into the room she was finally
getting a good look at him. This man, whoever he was, was tall and
slender, but his wet T-shirt showed her what was hidden underneath
the cotton fabric. His chest was defined by muscles, and while he
didn’t have large, overly muscular arms like so many men she saw on
the beach these days, they were definitely the arms of a working man.
The smile he was giving her wasn’t half bad, either. In fact, if she had
the time for a boyfriend, she would say he was just handsome enough
to be her type.
Time for a boyfriend?
That ridiculous thought brought her back to reality. Bracing her
hands down at her sides, she pushed herself to a standing position.
Holding out her hand toward his, she meant to shake it, but somehow
when his hand met hers, she lost her balance. The next thing she knew
she was slipping and falling to the ground. With his hand in hers, she
16 Nicole Morgan
unwillingly took him with her and they both crashed down on the
hard floor.
A loud crack echoed in her head when it met with the tile floor. It
disoriented her for a second. That was, until she felt the strong, hard
body lying on top of her. Opening her eyes, she realized their faces
were just inches apart, and she could feel his breath caressing her lips.
Heat warmed her wet body, despite lying there in inches of water.
Her heart began to race again, but not like it had before in her office.
She swallowed a lump of nervousness as it hit her throat. She
attempted to speak, but no words came out.
“Well, sugar. You know, normally I like to spend a little time
getting to know someone before I get horizontal with them, but since
you’re so forceful, I might just make an exception for you.”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
                          ~~~CLICK HERE TO MEET NICOLE MORGAN~~~

Call Of Duty: Deadly Obligations by Tamara McHatton

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
This is the first published novel by the beautiful Tamara McHatton & I was more than happy to give it a read.. She now has a huge fan for life!! I don't think I have ever seen a better first novel out there! Not a single carry-on part, no mistakes in characters or their locations and incredibly engrossing, I truly could not put this book down! 
We are introduced to sexy alpha Green Beret Garrett Jensen, a man who doesn't exist in most of the world's eyes, because of the intense secrecy of his job. He is on a military mission when his beautiful, beloved wife Catherine, ends up in premature labor & loses their infant son, leaving her distraught & devastated.. It is many months before she can even get word to Garrett, but before she is even able to reach him, she feels she can no longer handle being the wife of an absentee military man, and decides to move away with their two young daughters & file for divorce. Garrett comes back off of the mission and is devastated with Catherine's decision.. He vows to do anything he can to get Catherine & his girls back home and together as a family, again.. But before he gets the chance to put much effort into the reconciliation, his world is once again thrown in upheaval as his military enemies have found his family & his daughters are kidnapped.. Catherine will not be left behind as Garrett heads out to find his daughters. She soon realizes the dangers that Garrett has had to face everyday and she  soon understands his reasons for continuing to head out on life-saving missions in third-world, war torn & drug infested countries.. Even as she decides that she wants Garrett back in her life, that decision may end up being taken out of her hands.. Can Garrett & Catherine manage to save their daughters & get them all out alive? Or are Garrett's enemies not about to let him leave the country alive? 
This book was spell-binding from the beginning until the end & I cannot wait for the next book in this series! Ms. McHatton manages to weave a dramatic, intense and emotional novel, full of intrigue & sheer terror not to mention the sensual & oh-so-hot scenes she squeezes in this intense novel. I am a true fan of Tamara Mc Hatton for life! The cover is truly gorgeous and shows the intensity of the life of a Green Beret.. Run right out & grab this book for your TBR list, today! Tamara McHatton will is a force to be reckoned with in the world of new authors!
~~

PLATINUM REVIEWS GIVES TAMARA & CALL OF DUTY: DEADLY OBLIGATIONS:
5 PLATINUM RINGS!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
BLURB:

Green Beret captain Garrett Jensen has two great loves in his life.
His country and his family.
Until he's forced to choose.

Catherine Jensen is a non-issued SF wife fed up with coming in second.
Family or country.
Her choice is easy until her girls are kidnapped.

Their priorities collide when they're forced to team up in order to save their children.
Their enemies are within, and without, but which is which?
That becomes the ultimate question.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
EXCERPT:

She felt, more than heard, the explosion on the outside of the aircraft. Heard what she thought was the detonation of hand
grenades, and each sound got louder by the second. A whirring noise filled the air, though she didn't know what it was or where
it originated from.
Abruptly, the air inside the cabin filled with smoke. Gunfire rattled up from below.
Cathryn peeked around the edge of the door and sucked in a deep breath. Escara's men were shooting up at the helicopter. 
She stared in horror as more of them seemed to spread into the area from everywhere, reminding her of the continuous
movement of an ant colony. She surveyed the floor of the cabin. Four of Escara's men and a crewmember lay dead, Bucky and
the co-pilot were wounded, and her girls were huddled as far back under the nav table as they could get. She'd never witnessed
anything like this before. The sight alone was terrifying. She shook her head and trembled, unsure if she would be able to hold
the contents of her stomach down. The big machine swung precariously from side to side, scaring the living hell out of her; her
stomach swayed in unison with the helicopter, churning and rolling in protest.
"Hold this chopper steady. The Cap'n's still hanging on," Bucky yelled to the front.
Curtis took a glance backward through the open space and shouted to be heard above the roar of the engines. "Sergeant, if he's 
not onboard inside of ten seconds, then I'm outta here." He swiveled in his seat, flinching as bullets pinged off the glass.
"I wouldn't do that, sir!" Bucky Stevens hollered back.
Cathryn heard the sound of a metal gun bolt being drawn back and saw Kelso standing with a pistol to the head of the pilot.
Curtis jerked his head around, his amazed stare drawn to the loaded weapon fixed on a spot in the middle of his forehead. 
Licking his lips, he let out a nervous laugh, swallowed hard, and stuttered, "I, I guess-ss I'll w-wait." He smiled weakly, relief
flooding his features as the gun lowered.
"Good idea, sir," Bucky replied.
Cathryn was impressed. The loyalty of these men was phenomenal. Did her husband really garner such devotion, such 
allegiance? From the looks of these rough and tumble men of Special Ops, apparently so. Everything about them spoke
volumes for the way they felt about Garrett, and it took her by surprise that she felt pride in their loyalty. Pride in the fact that her
husband commanded such respect from men of this caliber.
Seconds ticked by like hours.
Bucky leaned over the side of the helicopter again, extending his right arm over the side. The wound in his shoulder continued to 
seep through his fatigues.
Cathryn peered over the edge as well. Her heart lurched at the sight of Garrett, almost within the safety of the helicopter, hanging 
on to his sergeant by nothing more than his fingertips, suspended from the door in midair. The rescue harness, with Rivera still
strapped in to it, wasn't far enough off the ground. She had to turn away, to hide from the terrifying sight, to block out what might
come next.
Bucky shouted, his words incoherent against the loud whine of the engines.
"What?" Cathryn leaned toward Bucky.
"Son of a bitch! I dropped him!" Bucky looked at Cathryn, a mixture of horror and denial written all over his face.
Cathryn didn't even hesitate. She scooted forward, panic racing through every inch of her soul, and saw Garrett some twenty feet 
below on the sand, still moving. "Go back down. Go down!" Her body leaned out over the edge, she felt her balance shift forward.
Bucky threw an arm around her waist. She pointed to the ground, trying to get her purpose across. They had to go back down 
and get Garrett. He wasn't hurt that bad. Good Lord, they couldn't leave him there!
"He wouldn't want that." Bucky shook his head, his eyes telling her all she needed to know. "He'd want us to get the girls out of 
here."
Cathryn screamed. She had to make him understand. "We've got to go back down and get him."
A voice came in over Bucky's headset, Cathryn leaned in to hear.
"Two, this is One. Over." Garrett's voice was shaky, rushed.
Bucky held his hand to his ear, pushing the earpiece in tighter. He waved for the others to be quiet. "One, this is Two. We're 
coming back down. Over." Bucky set the mike on loudspeaker, allowing the entire helicopter to hear
the exchange.
Garrett's voice came back over the airwaves. A disembodied croak, sounding so close, yet so far away. "Two, this is One. 
Negative. Get my girls out of here. Evacuate the area immediately. Over."
Cathryn's heart thudded against her chest. She clutched the edge of the door, looking into Bucky's face. He wasn't going to let 
that happen, was he? He couldn't. That was her husband down there, the father of her children. What would happen to her if he
was killed? How would she go on?
Bucky spoke. "Guys, I don't care what he says. We have to go back and get him. I know he's put his ass on the line for you many 
times."
Cathryn stared at Bucky. He wavered, uncertainty in his expression. They had to go back and get him! If she was prepared to do 
whatever necessary to rescue her husband, they damn well better be prepared also. Every head in the chopper nodded in
agreement.
Bucky keyed his mike. "One, this is Two. Am set to land. Over."
Again, Garrett's voice crackled over the airwaves. "Two, this is One. Get out of here. Now. Am not worth the risk, repeat, am not 
worth it. Get the hell out of here now. Please." The mike was silent for a moment. "That's a lawful order, Bucky. Acknowledge.
Now. Over."
"Damn it!" Bucky looked around then slowly stared at her.
What did he want her to say? Go ahead, leave him? No way. She wouldn't do it, couldn't do it.
"Mommy?" Missy's call came from under the nav table, the tiny voice trembling. "Is Daddy going to die?"
Cathryn stared into Missy's eyes, unable to answer her daughter. How did she answer? I don't know honey, it's up to these 
men? Dear God, she hoped not. She turned back toward Bucky.
He responded to Garrett, his eyes telling her how sorry he was. His voice caught as he answered. "One... this is Two. Will... 
comply. Over."
Curtis heard the exchange. Throwing the helicopter into gear, he lifted the aircraft higher, putting space between the Black Hawk 
and the bullets. As the huge machine rotated and buzzed over the treetops, Cathryn lay on her stomach and watched the ground
grow smaller.
The gunfire below increased.
Two jeeps roared into the area, driven haphazardly by what she could only assume were Escara's men firing machine guns. 
Grenades and other explosives made a fireball of the tiny space below, flames lapping and licking at everything in sight. Smoke
obscured the area now as the helicopter got farther away.
"Damn," Bucky cussed. "The captain and Rivera have taken most of the heat off us. Look... "
Cathryn had already been memorizing the scene; she couldn't take her eyes off it even if she'd wanted to. Her breath caught in 
her chest.
Garrett stood within a ring of fire, a short distance from the landing zone, lobbing thrown grenades back at the advancing enemy 
as he protected a prone Rivera. As the helicopter circled around to leave the area, he held his hand aloft in the thumbs-up sign.
"Give 'em hell, Cap'n," Bucky muttered under his breath.
Static came over his mike, still keyed into the loudspeaker. "Bucky, it's been good." More static. "I'm very proud... her," static "tell 
Cat I... tried," static "... always love her."
The helicopter swung around to put more distance between them and the beach. Cathryn's last sight was of Garrett jerking as 
blood sprayed from his left leg. The radio died.
Cathryn slumped to the deck, lost. Silent tears slid down her cheeks as her chest filled with a pain so intense, so deep, nothing 
else mattered. Her husband, her hero, was gone…forever.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
~~~~~CLICK HERE TO VISIT TAMARA McHATTON~~~~~

Saturday, February 2, 2013

Unforgivable by James Fuller

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
GENRE: HORROR/FANTASY/THRILLER
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
REVIEW:

Once again, I swayed out of my normal paranormal genre to take a dive into the world of author James Fuller and what a surprise I received! Non-stop action, horror, drama & heart-breaking emotional scenes that left me cheering & crying at the same time! 
We meet Jamus, a man out for well-deserved revenge, after the brutal murders of his wife & son and the kidnapping of his daughter, Sofia.. He will not rest until the monsters who committed this atrocity are brought to his very own personal kind of justice..
The emotions written into this story are just purely amazing! My heart literally ached when the horrible people were torturing Jamus's family... I cried with pain to see what Jamus had to watch & go through... I laughed with him when he had successes & his revenge campaign started to work!
This truly is one amazing novella & for lovers of horror/thriller/fantasy type books, you do NOT want to miss this book!! I'm looking forward to Part 2 and can't wait to get lost in the next amazing book by this author!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Platinum Reviews gives James & "Unforgivable"

4.5 PLATINUM RINGS! 
    


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
BLURB:

Rising from the ashes of his home in Ever-Dale, Jamus Willms carves a brutal path of vengeance through the lands powerful nobility. His quest for justice seems to defy even death as hatred fuels his journey to the ruthless Lord that took everything from him as a simple reminder of the status quo. With the fires of that fateful night still burning in his mind, each step that takes him closer to reclaiming his daughter from the clutches of a psychopath blurs the line between man and monster as Jamus struggles to keep the flames that had disfigured his flesh from
twisting his very soul forever...


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
EXCERPT:

“Jamus Willms - deep down I believe you know why we’re here.” The exquisitely dressed man with the sword to his chest replied, five of his intent driver companions fanning out through the house, while one chubby man stayed by the door. It was a face Jamus knew well - Markel Jones, from one town over.
Jamus swallowed hard as he recognized the pampered face of the intruder in front of him. “He can’t have her she’s just a girl, not even twelve winters old!” Jamus bellowed tears now rimming his eyes.
A snide smile creasing the man’s powdered face, “Lord Carter didn’t take kindly to your public refusal at the festival. You humiliated him and forgot your place in this world Jamus Willms!”
“She is my daughter - it is my right as her father to give blessing to her suitor when she is of age for it!” Jamus snapped back angrily, bitter terror drenching his every word.
The man’s lips quivered involuntary with rage and he backhanded Jamus. “Again you forget your place, peasant! Lord Carter requires the company of your daughter - with or without your consent and you have no right to deny him!”
“Over my dead body!” Jamus cried defiantly taking a step forward but stopping once again as the blade pushed him back with enough force to puncture his flesh and he could feel blood begin to trickle down his chest.
“Then you won’t be disappointed with tonight’s outcome,” the man nodded and two of the large brutes grabbed Jamus from behind.
“No! Please, by the gods no!” Jamus cried, as he was dragged across the room and thrown against the back wall - both greasy men began raining meaty fists into him. He heard his wife scream and lunged forward out of the barrage of brawny knuckles, but he didn’t make it far before he was pinned down to the cold wooden floor where several more fists found his flesh.
7
“Hold him there.” The leader ordered them. “Let him watch this. This is what happens to those who forget their place in life and disrespect those of high nobility.” The leader barked as his men began tearing open Nikki’s light grey dress, grabbing and groping at her soft exposed flesh. She cried and pleaded for them to stop; trying in vain to fight them off, but the act of defiance only heightened their rapacious lust for the sinful crime.
“Please no! Do what you will with me, but leave my family alone, please I beg you!” he bellowed out, trying to crawl his way to her. His fingers were already raw from the effort and they left fresh bloody marks with each attempt. But no matter how hard he tried he could not overpower the two men holding him.
Nate pulled his tiny arm free from the sweaty grip of the hulking, dark haired man holding him and his sister and snatched the dull knife from the table that was still slick with apple juices. He charged the men holding down his half-naked mother in a blind, foolish frenzy. The knife sunk deep into the shoulder of a pock-faced attacker - he roared out in shock, his fist connecting with Nate’s face, shattering the boy’s nose. Nate was thrown to the ground by the force of the blow, blood pouring freely from his nose and mouth as he cried out.
“You’ll pay for that you little pissant!” hissed the wounded brute as he kicked the boy sending him sprawling across the floor near the blazing hearth. Another brutish kick forced the boy into the coals and Nate howled in agony as the flames licked and scorched his skin.
“Please stop it, please stop! Leave him alone damn you!” Jamus wailed his arms stretched out almost to the point of dislocation, but to no avail - he couldn’t move under the strength of the men. “Stop it! Please!”
The brute pulled the knife from his shoulder with a grunt and threw it to the floor. He pushed down on the boy with his foot, holding the poor child half in the flames listening to his wails of anguish. The small cauldron of water was boiling the smell of the fresh-spiced taze emanating from it.
With a malicious grin, the man tipped the pot, spilling its blistering contents over Nate. He flailed and screamed even louder for several heartbreaking moments before going sickly still and silent........
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
                                   ~~~~~CLICK HERE TO VISIT JAMES FULLER~~~~~